Father of the Bride

I thought watching Father of the Bride would be a fun, light-hearted, girly way to spend my Saturday evening. I thought I would laugh and cry along with Annie and George Banks and their family. Yes, I knew I could cry, but I thought it be because I was so happy and entranced in the movie, not because I missed my dad and all the moments we won’t get to share together. I guess I didn’t really think about the title of the movie. Father of the Bride.

One part of losing your dad is coming to terms with the fact that he won’t be able to walk you down the aisle on your wedding day. He won’t be standing at the altar and give you away to your husband-to-be. He won’t be able to dance the Father-Daughter dance with you. He won’t be in your wedding pictures smiling because he is so happy that you are so happy. He won’t be there to share in the most important day of your life. For me, this has been one of the hardest facts to face.

I miss my dad. Obviously. I miss his presence and his voice, but I miss the little things the most. I miss his phone calls asking me about school and reminding me to be safe in this scary city of New York. I miss how every time C and I came to visit him, he always said, “You two are so in loooove” in his twang of a Texas accent. I miss how, even though he loved C, I know he would have freaked out when I got engaged. I miss how I was always his little girl and how he wanted to protect me the from all the bad in the world.

Tears are falling as I type this. I know my dad won’t be there on my wedding day. It was one of the first hundred thoughts that entered my mind when I found out he had died. I try not to think about it too often because every time I do, I start crying. Like now. So this is where I stop.

7 responses to “Father of the Bride

  1. thegoodnamesaretaken

    I’m so sorry.

  2. That’s really hard; I hope you cheer up soon. Think of how happy he would have been to see you on your wedding day! I’m sure he wouldn’t want you crying. 😦

  3. You just have to try and remember how proud he would be of you and how much he loves you.

  4. redstaplernation

    *hands you a tissue*

    So sorry, sweetie.

  5. *hugs* I’m so sorry it made you that sad. I can only imagine how tough this must be, but to know that he’s always with you and will be with you then I hope is some comfort.

  6. *hugs hugs and more hugs*

  7. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    oh sweetheart. i have no idea what you’re going through, so i won’t even try to relate, but know you are so amazing. so so so amazing.

    i adore you.

Leave a Reply

