Weekend Getaway

The entire weekend was a test on my flexibility and being able to go with the flow. Nothing went as planned. My sister woke up Thursday morning with a horrible stomach virus, but luckily got most of it our of her system by Friday morning. It still caused us to leave 5 hours later than planned. We stopped on our way out of town to get some Chick-fil-a for lunch which didn’t make up for the late departure, but still made me happy. I love those chicken nuggets and waffle fries! Why hasn’t New York discovered the greatness yet?


By the time we made it to the beach it was almost 6 pm. We grabbed a quick dinner, and my sister crashed into bed while my mom and I went to see an IMAX 3D film on The Grand Canyon. After the movie, my mom and I changed into our workout clothes and headed to the gym. We watched Michael Phelps win his 7th gold medal as we ran side-by-side on the treadmills. Before we went back up to the room to get ready for bed we cooled off in the pool and relaxed for bit in the hot tub. Friday was a good day.


Saturday morning I woke up hoping for sunshine and cloudless skies, but no. It was overcast with thunderstorms. Before lunch my mom, sister, and I went to the Titanic exhibition where we were able to see artifacts from the sunken ship. It still amazes me that over 1500 people died in that disaster. And did you know that a ticket in a first class cabin cost over $47,000! That’s insane.


After the exhibit, we went back to the hotel, ate lunch, and changed into our swim suits. Since it was still raining we did some shopping around town for a few hours before going to the beach. My sister bought a hermit crab which she named Hermie.


When it finally stopped raining for a bit, we went to the beach and I played in the waves and drew my name in the sand. It was glorious. We didn’t have much time to play though because we had to go back to the hotel and change for dinner before it got too late. Also, it looked like it was about to start raining again. My dreams of a beach-filled day turned into only one hour of fun in the sun.


So we showered and got ready for dinner at a fancy seafood restaurant. My mom recommended a crab dish with Parmesan asiago sauce. She said her friend had tried it a few weeks ago and loved it. I tried it. It was disgusting and I was disappointed. It was also $26.00 so I think my mom was a little disappointed too. When we finished our dinner we decided to try another IMAX 3D movie, this time- The Haunted Castle. And oh-my-goodness, this film was horrible. I believe it was made it France, but it had no story line and the stupid castle wasn’t even haunted. Another disappointment.


On Sunday morning I was greeted by sunshine!! Finally. So I jumped out of bed and dragged my mom to the beach at 8:30am with our coffee in hand. I lay out on the sand, jumped in the waves, and found some shells for Hermie’s new home. I spent about an hour and half soaking up the sun and loved every second of it. Oh, Funny story: As I was walking back to the car, a man on the beach said to me, “Honey you are too white! You need a tan!” haha. Honestly, I was a little offended, but I am really pale, so I guess he had a point. I just laughed it off and made it my goal for the rest of the summer to get some color.

18 responses to “Weekend Getaway

  1. I’m craving Chick-fil-a like MAD now!!

  2. I’m craving Chick-fil-a like MAD now!!

  3. Glad you had a fun trip! If you’re ever down here in DC, you should check out the Titanic Memorial. No one really knows about it but it’s super cool! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women's_Titanic_Memorial

  4. Glad you had a fun trip! If you’re ever down here in DC, you should check out the Titanic Memorial. No one really knows about it but it’s super cool! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women's_Titanic_Memorial

  5. Oh man, when I moved back home to CT and was working in NYC, I had serious chick fil a withdrawl!

  6. Oh man, when I moved back home to CT and was working in NYC, I had serious chick fil a withdrawl!

  7. as many times as i’ve visited NYC i didn’t realize that chik-fil-a was nonexistent there!!

    i really want to go to that titanic exhibit!

    despite the rain, it still sounds like it was a really good trip.

  8. as many times as i’ve visited NYC i didn’t realize that chik-fil-a was nonexistent there!!

    i really want to go to that titanic exhibit!

    despite the rain, it still sounds like it was a really good trip.

  9. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    awe, it still sounds like you had a great time even if things didn’t go quite as planned.

    and the titanic? i’m slightly obsessed with everything to do with it.

  10. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    awe, it still sounds like you had a great time even if things didn’t go quite as planned.

    and the titanic? i’m slightly obsessed with everything to do with it.

  11. Gorgeous beach! And I loved the Titanic exhibit, so interesting!! (And, thankfully, without a Celine Dion soundtrack.)

    xox

  12. Gorgeous beach! And I loved the Titanic exhibit, so interesting!! (And, thankfully, without a Celine Dion soundtrack.)

    xox

  13. Glad you had a great trip!
    Chick fil a is awesome! They didnt have any in Michigan either, so I had a dreadful 2 years without it!

    Incase you didnt hear they are making a new movie with Leo Dicaprio and Kate Winslet… I doubt it will have a sinking ship and awesome love story though!

  14. Glad you had a great trip!
    Chick fil a is awesome! They didnt have any in Michigan either, so I had a dreadful 2 years without it!

    Incase you didnt hear they are making a new movie with Leo Dicaprio and Kate Winslet… I doubt it will have a sinking ship and awesome love story though!

  15. That sounds like a great time! I love the rain picture, that is great. The food looks awesome too. Hmm grease.

  16. That sounds like a great time! I love the rain picture, that is great. The food looks awesome too. Hmm grease.

  17. Sounds like an awesome weekend. Although that is a bit rude, telling someone they’re too white

  18. Sounds like an awesome weekend. Although that is a bit rude, telling someone they’re too white

Leave a Reply

