The Baggage

C and I broke up. It happened Wednesday night. He called me, we talked, he ended it. I was upset and I cried, but it was okay. There was no fighting and no yelling, just a simple conversation. I think we both knew we were unhappy and something needed to be done. He admitted that he wasn’t able to give me what I needed from the relationship and it wasn’t going to get any better… so it’s good that we ended things now instead of waiting it out. This is the first time we have both been unhappy in our relationship at the same time which I think means that this break-up is forever.

I haven’t cried since that night and I haven’t really been sad. I think I knew this was coming and I was preparing myself for it. For now, I am looking forward to the future and the freedom I have. There won’t be the stress and arguments about phone calls. I can now fully focus on my life and what I need to do. It’s a relief actually.

I know it’s going to be hard. We were together for almost 6 years, so obviously it’s going to take time to move on. I know this. But right now I am excited. I feel like the world is mine and I can make anything happen.

Also! I got my second bloggy award!! The wonderful Rebekah from She’s Got Baggage made the Best Baggage Handler award.


I am so honored and happy to have received this award. It really means a lot to me. When I checked my email yesterday at school and saw the message from Rebekah a huge smile spread across my face. I’m sure I looked like a huge dork for the next ten minutes as I walked down the hall smiling. Who cares though? I was happy!

Since Rebekah created this award, she also created the rules. She says, “I want this to go to our blogger friends who are really slogging through crummy times but still making the best of what life has dealt them – even if it means just surviving for awhile.”

I want to pass this award on to the Well-Intentioned Heartbreaker because she amazes me each and every day. Her blog touches on the arguments she has had with her family, her relationship, and the daily life stresses of work and school. Somehow, through it all, she has managed to remain happy… and therefore has become my role-model. Go send her some of your love. She definitely deserves it!

36 responses to “The Baggage

  1. Wow. I’m sorry about this, but it sounds like it’s really for the best in the long run and that you’re doing really well. Still, it’ll definitely take time for you to move on… six years is a long time to have spent together. We’re all here for you if you need it.

  2. Wow. I’m sorry about this, but it sounds like it’s really for the best in the long run and that you’re doing really well. Still, it’ll definitely take time for you to move on… six years is a long time to have spent together. We’re all here for you if you need it.

  3. Sorry hun. Big hugs to you.

  4. Sorry hun. Big hugs to you.

  5. I’m new here, but can definitely relate πŸ™‚ After 5-1/2 years trying to “wait it out” I finally, finally saw that the best was to just let it go. It’s taken a year and one roller-coaster relationship I now classify as Mr. Rebound, but I am truly happy today. I’ve found me again, and as a bonus someone new who loves that girl.

    You’ll do just fine, I know it! πŸ™‚

  6. I’m new here, but can definitely relate πŸ™‚ After 5-1/2 years trying to “wait it out” I finally, finally saw that the best was to just let it go. It’s taken a year and one roller-coaster relationship I now classify as Mr. Rebound, but I am truly happy today. I’ve found me again, and as a bonus someone new who loves that girl.

    You’ll do just fine, I know it! πŸ™‚

  7. aw i’m so sorry. but you definitely sound like you guys are both handling the situation maturely and that it was for the best. i hope you’re doing okay πŸ™‚

  8. aw i’m so sorry. but you definitely sound like you guys are both handling the situation maturely and that it was for the best. i hope you’re doing okay πŸ™‚

  9. I’m sorry. You seem like your dealing okay right now, but if you need to talk, email me! seriously!

  10. I’m sorry. You seem like your dealing okay right now, but if you need to talk, email me! seriously!

  11. Ugh sorry to hear that news, but it’s great that you have such a positive outlook on the situation. Stay strong! There will definitely be ups and downs as you move on but I know you’ll be able to handle it.

  12. Ugh sorry to hear that news, but it’s great that you have such a positive outlook on the situation. Stay strong! There will definitely be ups and downs as you move on but I know you’ll be able to handle it.

  13. Sorry to hear about the break up. But you sound like your dealing pretty well with things and can see that this will only make you stronger and better. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  14. Sorry to hear about the break up. But you sound like your dealing pretty well with things and can see that this will only make you stronger and better. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  15. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    okay first of all, and most important – you are a gem. you are going to be okay and i'm glad to hear that you are looking towards the future with a smile. =)

    and secondly, THANK YOU! i love the award, and everything you said. you are such a sweetheart. <333333333

  16. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    okay first of all, and most important – you are a gem. you are going to be okay and i'm glad to hear that you are looking towards the future with a smile. =)

    and secondly, THANK YOU! i love the award, and everything you said. you are such a sweetheart. <333333333

  17. sorry about the breakup gal, sounds like it’s for the better and you can only go forward from here – learn from your relationship and let everything lead you onto something better in life πŸ™‚ Do what’s good for you for now and enjoy life as it is πŸ™‚ *hugs*

  18. just blog hopping…sorry to read of your “baggage” I wish you the best!

  19. sorry about the breakup gal, sounds like it’s for the better and you can only go forward from here – learn from your relationship and let everything lead you onto something better in life πŸ™‚ Do what’s good for you for now and enjoy life as it is πŸ™‚ *hugs*

  20. just blog hopping…sorry to read of your “baggage” I wish you the best!

  21. Aw, I’m sorry because I can imagine it sucks to end a 6yr relationship, but I’m glad you’re handling it so well! It sounds as though this deicision was best for both of you.
    If you need anything, drop me an email

  22. Aw, I’m sorry because I can imagine it sucks to end a 6yr relationship, but I’m glad you’re handling it so well! It sounds as though this deicision was best for both of you.
    If you need anything, drop me an email

  23. thegoodnamesaretaken

    Sorry to hear about the break up but it sounds like you’re seeing some of the positives and I really admire you for that. Also, congrats on the award!

  24. thegoodnamesaretaken

    Sorry to hear about the break up but it sounds like you’re seeing some of the positives and I really admire you for that. Also, congrats on the award!

  25. Sorry to hear about you and C. Sounds like you’re staying positive though, which is great.

  26. Sorry to hear about you and C. Sounds like you’re staying positive though, which is great.

  27. Just found ur blog and am SO sorry to hear your news!!! You seem to be handling it positively and GO YOU for that & congratualtions on the award you deserve it!
    Love the blog will def be adding it to my faves!

  28. Just found ur blog and am SO sorry to hear your news!!! You seem to be handling it positively and GO YOU for that & congratualtions on the award you deserve it!
    Love the blog will def be adding it to my faves!

  29. Hey – sorry to hear about the breakup, but I’m so happy to see that you seem to be handling it pretty well.

    πŸ™‚

  30. Hey – sorry to hear about the breakup, but I’m so happy to see that you seem to be handling it pretty well.

    πŸ™‚

  31. I’m so sorry about the breakup, it sounds like if you guys have exhausted the options then it’s for the best though.

  32. I’m so sorry about the breakup, it sounds like if you guys have exhausted the options then it’s for the best though.

  33. I’m sorry to hear about the breakup, but it’s great that you’re handling it so well!

  34. I’m sorry to hear about the breakup, but it’s great that you’re handling it so well!

  35. I can’t even imagine a 6-year relationship, let alone dealing with the end of one. I’m glad the Baggage Handler Award came on a day like that for you, and so glad it gave you a smile in the midst of everything. :o)

  36. I can’t even imagine a 6-year relationship, let alone dealing with the end of one. I’m glad the Baggage Handler Award came on a day like that for you, and so glad it gave you a smile in the midst of everything. :o)

Leave a Reply

