First Day

Today is my first day working at my internship.

As I said before, I am nervous, excited and dreading this, all at the same time. I know it will be a great learning experience, and I know I will improve my counseling skills, but it’s something about change that makes my stomach turn.

I don’t like it.

I’m scared that I will be known as the “little young White girl”. After all, most of the clients are Hispanic and African American men in the 40’s or 50’s. I’m scared they will be wondering how I can help them? How do I know more about this world than they do? How will I be able to serve them? How will I show them that I can do this? That I do know what I’m doing.

I’m scared I will be put into a situation that I don’t know how to get out of. I’m sure this will happen at some point, but still, I’m scared. How will I react? What will I say to that client who is psychotic? What about the woman hearing voices? What will I say to her?

I am scared of the unknown. I am scared of being put on the spot and not knowing what to do.

I am scared that my schooling and clinical observation won’t be enough to carry me through this.

I am scared that I will fail.

I’m just scared.

23 responses to “First Day

  1. thegoodnamesaretaken

    Good luck today!

  2. thegoodnamesaretaken

    Good luck today!

  3. Little Miss Obsessive

    Good luck!! I’m sure you will do great. 🙂

  4. Little Miss Obsessive

    Good luck!! I’m sure you will do great. 🙂

  5. notthelifeiordered

    You will do GREAT! I know it 🙂 Totally typical feelings for the first day, I think we all feel we’ll fail miserably but you will do awesomely. Good luck!!

  6. notthelifeiordered

    You will do GREAT! I know it 🙂 Totally typical feelings for the first day, I think we all feel we’ll fail miserably but you will do awesomely. Good luck!!

  7. Good Luck! The fact that you are nervous and scared just shows how much you will end up rocking this because you actually care about it.

  8. Good Luck! The fact that you are nervous and scared just shows how much you will end up rocking this because you actually care about it.

  9. The Awkward Type

    You’ll do fine!

    Remember in class how the typical therapist, pauses for what seems like forever, then think and answer!
    thats how I got through my internship!
    I was working with children. Who are you working with?

  10. The Awkward Type

    You’ll do fine!

    Remember in class how the typical therapist, pauses for what seems like forever, then think and answer!
    thats how I got through my internship!
    I was working with children. Who are you working with?

  11. I start my new Social worker job next week. I will be working for family services. I feel the exact same way you do. Im scared to death. But, good luck to you.

  12. I start my new Social worker job next week. I will be working for family services. I feel the exact same way you do. Im scared to death. But, good luck to you.

  13. sure you’ll start out as the “little young white girl” – but once they learn about who you really are and look beneath the surface, they will know that you’re there because you care. that’s what matters more than anything… and if you fail, get back up and try again. if you don’t fail, you’re not working hard enough.

    best of luck to you 🙂

  14. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    you can do it. i 100% believe in you.
    don’t doubt yourself and you’ll totally rock it!

  15. sure you’ll start out as the “little young white girl” – but once they learn about who you really are and look beneath the surface, they will know that you’re there because you care. that’s what matters more than anything… and if you fail, get back up and try again. if you don’t fail, you’re not working hard enough.

    best of luck to you 🙂

  16. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    you can do it. i 100% believe in you.
    don’t doubt yourself and you’ll totally rock it!

  17. Good luck lady, you are going to be BRILLIANT!

  18. Good luck lady, you are going to be BRILLIANT!

  19. You can do it!!! 🙂 You’re there to learn – which means you’re also there to make mistakes. Just keep asking questions!

  20. You can do it!!! 🙂 You’re there to learn – which means you’re also there to make mistakes. Just keep asking questions!

  21. You can absolutely do this. The first day is always scary but take a deep breath and take things one step at a time. They hired you and selected you for this, so they know you can do it, now it’s time to go do so.

  22. You can absolutely do this. The first day is always scary but take a deep breath and take things one step at a time. They hired you and selected you for this, so they know you can do it, now it’s time to go do so.

  23. Pingback: Reviewing Year Twenty-four «

Leave a Reply

