Something different

How do you know if something is right? If it’s what you should do? That it’s what you want to do? How do you know if you like something, or someone, when it is so different from what you are used to?

His hugs make me feel safe, his smile make me warm inside, his hands make me feel wanted. I like the conversations we have, even if they are strange.

He is so different than what I’m used to, so different from C.

He has no plan. He is spontaneous. He tells jokes. He laughs constantly. He makes pizza from scratch. He drinks caffeine before going to bed. He is unpredictable. He keeps me wanting more.

But then he walks away.

And I second guess myself and the situation. Yes, this is different. Yes it’s a little weird, he’s a little weird, but that’s okay, right?

I can adapt. When you meet someone new, you can’t stay the exact same way you were with someone else, can you?

I feel like I’m new to all of this. I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing. I hate not knowing what to do. I hate not knowing.

26 responses to “Something different

  1. you’ll adjust and learn as you go…trust me.

  2. you’ll adjust and learn as you go…trust me.

  3. It has to be new.

    The old way didn’t work out. If you dated someone just like C., you’d be repeating history – something we all try and avoid.

    You are freshly single – a very good reason to take things slow. That gives you breathing room, time to adjust, and time to stretch out a little into this new relationship.

    Just make sure it doesn’t feel forced.. and you’ll be fine. 🙂

  4. It has to be new.

    The old way didn’t work out. If you dated someone just like C., you’d be repeating history – something we all try and avoid.

    You are freshly single – a very good reason to take things slow. That gives you breathing room, time to adjust, and time to stretch out a little into this new relationship.

    Just make sure it doesn’t feel forced.. and you’ll be fine. 🙂

  5. That’s totally how I felt about Adam (we’re not together now, btw, but that’s irrelevant). It can be scary when someone makes you feel THAT good. They don’t come along very often so just take things slow and you’ll figure him out eventually 🙂

  6. That’s totally how I felt about Adam (we’re not together now, btw, but that’s irrelevant). It can be scary when someone makes you feel THAT good. They don’t come along very often so just take things slow and you’ll figure him out eventually 🙂

  7. You have to realize who *you* are, and be that person. I think it’s important to try not to compare it to you and C, bc NB is not C, he is NB.

    You’ll figure it out. I know you will.

  8. You have to realize who *you* are, and be that person. I think it’s important to try not to compare it to you and C, bc NB is not C, he is NB.

    You’ll figure it out. I know you will.

  9. It is different and new but you wouldn’t want to keep repeating the same pattern, right? Change is always hard to get used to but he sounds like an interesting guy at least.

  10. It is different and new but you wouldn’t want to keep repeating the same pattern, right? Change is always hard to get used to but he sounds like an interesting guy at least.

  11. Enjoy what you’re feeling now and how new things are. But be aware if you feel things are changing and old patterns are being repeated.

  12. Enjoy what you’re feeling now and how new things are. But be aware if you feel things are changing and old patterns are being repeated.

  13. You know things are right when your heart takes over. When what your brain thinks doesn’t matter anymore and you just FEEL it. (assuming, though, that you haven’t been brainwashed! that, for a fact, is bad.)

  14. You know things are right when your heart takes over. When what your brain thinks doesn’t matter anymore and you just FEEL it. (assuming, though, that you haven’t been brainwashed! that, for a fact, is bad.)

  15. I think you should enjoy the newness of this relationship because the beginning is so fun. Just make sure you don’t compromise things you don’t feel comfortable compromising. I think have fun, think about what you want and what you won’t or don’t want to regret, and time will tell! 🙂

  16. I think you should enjoy the newness of this relationship because the beginning is so fun. Just make sure you don’t compromise things you don’t feel comfortable compromising. I think have fun, think about what you want and what you won’t or don’t want to regret, and time will tell! 🙂

  17. I hate “not knowing” too, so I’ll pass along what I was told when I expressed this: try to get comfortable with being uncomfortable.

  18. I hate “not knowing” too, so I’ll pass along what I was told when I expressed this: try to get comfortable with being uncomfortable.

  19. I read your post yesterday and have been thinking about it since then. You asked, “how do you if something is right?” and I think that quite honestly, there isn’t always a way of knowing. Things that often seem like they will work out perfectly can go awry without warning. But on the flip side, things that seem uncertain have the potential to work out quite well. I think that sometimes it’s a good idea to broaden your horizons and step out of your comfort zone because even if it doesn’t work out, you’ll at least have had the experience and can say to yourself in future, “I tried this before and and didn’t like it.” Know what I mean?

    I hear you on the hate not knowing part. I’m the same way. But, for what it’s worth, I took a chance on the person I’m with now because he was different from what I was used to, and it’s worked out so well.

    Sorry for the novel!

    -Jacqueline

  20. I read your post yesterday and have been thinking about it since then. You asked, “how do you if something is right?” and I think that quite honestly, there isn’t always a way of knowing. Things that often seem like they will work out perfectly can go awry without warning. But on the flip side, things that seem uncertain have the potential to work out quite well. I think that sometimes it’s a good idea to broaden your horizons and step out of your comfort zone because even if it doesn’t work out, you’ll at least have had the experience and can say to yourself in future, “I tried this before and and didn’t like it.” Know what I mean?

    I hear you on the hate not knowing part. I’m the same way. But, for what it’s worth, I took a chance on the person I’m with now because he was different from what I was used to, and it’s worked out so well.

    Sorry for the novel!

    -Jacqueline

  21. change is inevitable, especially in interpersonal relationships. I totally have exactly your tendency to overthink things, but my advice is still to just go with it … you’re never going to know exactly what you’re doing, and waiting to figure it out might cause you to miss some pretty fantastic opportunities.

    Also: so happy for you! : )

  22. change is inevitable, especially in interpersonal relationships. I totally have exactly your tendency to overthink things, but my advice is still to just go with it … you’re never going to know exactly what you’re doing, and waiting to figure it out might cause you to miss some pretty fantastic opportunities.

    Also: so happy for you! : )

  23. Hi there! I randomly found your blog today and this post just really struck a cord with me! I’m going through something similar with my new boy. I’m a very confident person.. but with this boy I end up second guessing my actions half of the time. So frustrating!!

    Anyway.. love the blog! Your layout is super cute too! =)

  24. Hi there! I randomly found your blog today and this post just really struck a cord with me! I’m going through something similar with my new boy. I’m a very confident person.. but with this boy I end up second guessing my actions half of the time. So frustrating!!

    Anyway.. love the blog! Your layout is super cute too! =)

  25. He makes pizza from scratch?

    THAT is how you know it’s right ;o)

  26. He makes pizza from scratch?

    THAT is how you know it’s right ;o)

Leave a Reply

