I was asked out on a date

Remember when I wrote about that sweet old man at my internship who I talked to at the bus stop and then he got on the bus to tell me good-bye? Well, the story continues. This morning I was sitting in my supervisor’s office checking emails and he walked in.

“Hello,” I said, smiling at him.

“Good morning, I’m so glad to see your smiling face again.”

I laughed a little and said, “Thanks.”

“What’s your name again?”

“Ashley.”

“Oh, Ashley. That’s a pretty name. My name is Donald (I think he said his name is John last time, but you never know with these people). Well, actually my name is Hitler, but my second name is Donald. If I tell people my name is Hitler they get scared.”

“Oh, okay…” I nodded in agreement.

“I’ll tell you what. I get paid this afternoon. What if I take you out to lunch?”

“Thank you, but I’ll still be working. I appreciate it though.”

“Alright. We’ll I’ll see you around. Keep being beautiful.”

Oh the joys of working with the schizophrenic population. You never know what they are going to say. Did one of my clients really just ask me on a date? A man who is at least 40 years older than me? Huh. I guess it’s nice to know that even if NB isn’t interested I can always find a date at an adult home.

(Edited To Add: Donald continued to ask me out on dates for several weeks, to the point where it become inappropraite. I spoke with my supervisor about the situation and decided to tell Donald that I would not tolerate this behavior because it was inappropraite. Finally, he stopped.)

16 responses to “I was asked out on a date

  1. Wow, this sounds freaky!
    Yet, somewhat funny. I mean, this just doesn’t happen every day. 😀

  2. whoa, creepy mccreeperson…hah.

    how awkward was that “hitler” part of the convo??

  3. Princess Extraordinaire

    How cute – I asy cute as I used to work in an adult home for adults with developmental and mental disorders and some of the men would be charming and say sweet things…

  4. It sounds like you handled it well and it’s still a compliment, no matter his age/background.

  5. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    well i love this man. schizophrenic and all. he’s adorably sweet.

  6. Is his name really Hitler? Wow! I saw under your “currently” you started Twilight. How’s it going so far?

  7. Girls are so picky these days. What does it take huh?

  8. I think it is awesome that you’ve been able to connect with your clients enough for something like this to happen! Maybe his name is Donald John Hitler? Do people even have that last name anymore?? Also, it’s always a very good thing to have a fall back.

  9. I can’t believe you said no! 😉

  10. sounds like a dream boat, haha 🙂

  11. ohhhh you tagged me for my very first meme! YAAAY! haha..

  12. Wow, I just totally laughed out loud. That is quite the story.

    At least you have some job perks!

  13. i guess i didn’t know what you did for work! sounds like we are in a similar profession.
    same thing has happened to me before too… awkward much?

  14. Haha aww poor guy, just trying to score a date ;> my mom is a psychiatric nurse who deals with severe and peristent mental illness (out-patients) so basically mostly schitzophrenics. She has some really random stories!!

  15. Schizophrenics can have good taste too.

  16. Pingback: The Interview (I’ve lost count what number this is…) «

Leave a Reply

