Online dating?

I have a confession.

It was an accident really. I wasn’t really thinking and it just sort of… happened.

I joined Match.com.

Yeah, yeah, I’m totally embarrassed. I can’t believe I let myself do this.

I’m 24 years old and I am a member of an online dating site. Wow. Is that really as pathetic as it sounds?

It started out innocent enough. I created a profile just for fun and started browsing to see if anyone caught my interest. Then I got an email. Exciting, right? Someone is interested! I’m not a total loser! Yay!

But you have to subscribe to check your email. Yeah, that was frustrating. So I debated back and forth for a long time. Do I really want to pay money to look at random guys online and hope I get a few dates out of it? Umm… okay, why not.

So far I’ve received 11″winks” and one interesting email. The rest were duds. If you’re 35 and live in Arkansas, I don’t think it’s going to work out. Sorry, buddy.

But I figure it’s only been one day so hopefully things will get more interesting.

What about you? Do you have any successful online dating stories? (Please spare me the horror stories. I don’t even want to know.) Please let me know I’m not alone in this.

32 responses to “Online dating?

  1. i say, go for it! and don’t be so embarassed by it – love can be found anywhere.

  2. Two stories – I met one of my exes online, and although we aren’t dating anymore, we’re still really good friends, and he’s an awesome guy.

    Two – I met Dave online! No more needs to be said. πŸ™‚

  3. Little Miss Obsessive

    Aw, yay! I joined OKCupid but haven’t even created my profile yet or anything – just was browsing but I’m only 23 so does that make you feel any better? lol I’m excited because we can trade stories! πŸ™‚

  4. Why not! Meeting new people is never a bad thing! Especially with blogging and everything, some of my best friends are people I’ve met online. It just has a bad stigma attached to it…which will hopefully go away someday!! Good luck πŸ™‚

  5. I joined okcupid but I didn’t last too long. I have heard some really good things about match.com though. Several people have met their spouses there.

  6. I’m not a member of an online dating service, but my best friend met her boyfriend on match.com and they’ve been dating for almost 3 years!

    As long as you’re safe about it, I think it’s a wonderful resource! (at least you get to screen your blind dates ahead of time!)

    Have fun with it!

    -Jacqueline

  7. That’s what I did over a month ago and I’m 26. I have talked to a few interesting guys and have gone on two dates with one of them. We’ll see…

    I know several people who have found love through Match.com. Also, the weird ones always lurk. I received e-mails from several 50 something (or older). Eww!

    Good luck!

  8. Manfriend and I met via Facebook. And that was YEARS ago. Before it was remotely socially acceptable. Doesn’t get much more cringeworthy.

  9. My boyfriend and I met online about 4 years ago, but have been “together” for over a year and a half now. Online dating isn’t as bad as people make it out to be. Att least online you can screen the people before you have to put yourself through the ordeal of hanging out with them πŸ˜›

  10. i’ve contemplated about joining an online dating site.

    actually, one time i saw a commercial for eharmony and decide why not? let’s do it for fun. and then after i spent about 50 minutes filling out their stupid survey at the beginning they told me that i was suitable for anyone at the moment? and i kind of don’t know what that means and don’t really feel good about it…..

  11. I know a couple who met online but they tell everyone they met at the coffee place where they had their first face to face date. haha

    Good luck! Let us know how it goes =]

  12. Ah online dating adventures… have you emailed him back yet??

    At the very least, you will always have something to blog about πŸ™‚

    You are definitely not alone. It seems that everyone (including me!) online dates these days.

  13. I’ve been considering doing it for a while. I think it’s that stigma of online dating that’s holding me back. But at the same time, I know the stigma is stupid and being a 20-something who online dates is actually a) pretty normal and b) makes sense considering how much time we all spend online anyway, right?

  14. I’m on a free site (Plenty of Fish) and am yet to meet anyone. I have a feeling the people who pay are slightly more into it. Hopefully you are spared the 50 “hey baby” emails!

    Good luck, can’t wait to hear all about it!

  15. I been doing it for a while and I met a few people too. Now I suppose I might get a right guy. Do have a look at where I got hooked maybe you too would get involved.
    http://meet-rich-people.com

  16. Why not?

    My friend is engaged to a woman he met on a dating site.

  17. I’ve definitely never joined an online dating service…but trying to meet guys at college parties sucks, so it has to be better than that!

  18. My sister met her boyfriend of 2+ years now on Match.com. They now have a house in the suburbs and are THISCLOSE to being engaged. She’s 24, he’s 31. They’re PERFECT for each other.

    My good friend Paul joined OKCupid and met the girl he just started dating. He’s absolutely NUTS about her (she is REALLY cool).

    Those are my friends’ success stories. Both of them went into it w/ the attitude, “Well, what the hell? I’ve got nothing to lose,” and they came out of it a total success. Good luck! And please write about it!!! πŸ™‚

  19. While I don’t have any stories, my brother met his soon to be wife on one of those sites. They just recently got engaged. The only thing? They are a little embaressed when they tell people that is how they met.

  20. I have never ventured into online dating waters and can’t say I have a desire to do so. But I am looking forward to reading about your adventures! I have a friend who met, dated, and is now married to the man she met thru one of the online dating services.

  21. i joined match a while ago. they let me go through the entire process of joining and then decided to tell me there were no matches for me and that the service probably wouldn’t be beneficial to me. um, nice.

    also, i got rejected from eharmony.com for the same reason.

    hopefully you have better luck. πŸ˜‰

  22. Hey if it doesn’t work out, at least it will make some good blog material πŸ™‚

  23. My bestie joined Match and found the one! One month is only $30 something dollars- so its worth a try just to go on a few dates! Luck!

  24. i’ve been doing the online dating thing (that’s what my blog is all about) for a while now. i’ve met more that enough guys that aren’t for me, but i have recently met one that’s pretty awesome. there is a stigma attached to it, which sucks. i know quite a few people that have met their boyfriends on match.com and several are even engaged.

  25. Oh man, I was a member of Match.com. Big mistake. While it was a great ego booster, I had way too many emails from way too many freaks. And what I missed the most about “dating” was the actual meeting of two people. You can really feel a connection (or you don’t feel one) in person. Whereas online… you can be anybody. Oh well, try it out, don’t spend too much money on it though. πŸ˜‰

    By the way, just finished Midnight Sun. HOLY CRAP. Give me more. I had the best dream about Edward last night…. sigh. πŸ˜‰

  26. little miss optimist

    My coworker is totally gorgeous and met her boyfriend on match.com. She used to date a pro-NFL player too. So I definitely wouldn’t feel insecure about it! Have fun! And the guy she met is totally cute too.

  27. Good for you! There is no shame in this. You’ve already been winked at! Keep me posted how it goes, I need to work on that too.

  28. Online dating sites are popping up all over the internet. Match.com is my favorite.

  29. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    awesome, doll.

    have fun with it!! =)

  30. Don’t be ashamed! Online dating works. I went on a failed date with a guy I met through Myspace (ok… that’s shameful…) and guess who ended up being the guy’s best friend? Andrew. My boyfriend of 2.5 years. Good luck!

  31. Very Nice Articles! If you want a quick search for love.. check this out

    Search And Find Love Search engine which indexes web pages and allow you to use the quick view of the result page to find information about the website.

  32. Hi,

    Every online dating website will charge you, to contact members personally. I do think that its a waste of time and money in online dating channel.
    But some of them are free like below where you can send messages to members.

    Regards.
    Pradeep

Leave a Reply

