And he was really nice too

Before I get into all the details about the date, I want to say thank you to everyone who commented on my last post. You guys seriously helped me out with the outfit dilemma. I decided to wear dark jeans, a long sleeve white shirt, a black cardigan, black boots, and a red coat.


As it turns out, he was wearing jeans and a t-shirt as well, so it was fine. I felt completely comfortable at the game and wasn’t over- or under-dressed. So thank you for all for your suggestions. You’re the best! πŸ™‚

Now, on to the juicy details.

We met in Columbus Circle. He said to look for town car 163. If you’ve ever been to NYC or any major city, you know there are town cars everywhere. I walked around for a few minutes looking for the car and decided to just call him. He gave me more specific directions to the car, we said our awkward hellos and nice to meet yous and then we got in the car.

The conversation was a bit strained (but not painfully so) and I could tell that he was incredibly nervous. He kept looking out the window and stuttered during a few of his answers to my questions. Do you know how hard a first date is when both people are quiet and shy? Good thing he was cute.

He talked a lot about his job and I tried to pretend like I understood all the terms about the stock market and computer logarithms. At one point he said, “Let me know if this is boring you and I’ll stop”. I laughed and said “No, it’s not boring, I just don’t understand it all, haha”. So we laughed about that for a bit.

After we got through all the city traffic and made our way into New Jersey, we finally got to the arena. The car dropped us off out front and we walked inside to find our seats. He had told me before that the were really good (floor, courtside) seats so I was excited to see where they actually were.

We showed our tickets to the ticket people (do they have an official title?) and they told us to keep walking down the stairs to the very bottom. We passed all the bleacher seats and walked around a few rows of folding chairs before we found our seats.

We were sitting in the very front row. Oh my goodness.

I may have done a major freak out as were were walking parallel to the court and a basketball rolled in front of me. I picked it up and handed it back to one of the players. That’s right, I gave a basketball back to one of the NJ Nets during practice because it was in the way of my seat. Also, do you know how tall those guys are?? Seriously, I’m only 5’2″, but those guys are huge!

So we sit down in our seats and are drinking a beer. The game starts. We talk about the players, basketball and other sports in general, we talk about our families, school, work, etc. Sometimes it was difficult to concentrate on the conversation because we were distracted by the game. I think it was the perfect idea for a first date though. You have some time to talk, but aren’t forced to talk the entire 4 hours you are together. The game gave us time to enjoy each other’s company and not feel awkward if we were too shy to talk for a few minutes.

Since we had these amazing tickets, during half-time we got to go into the special VIP area where they had free food and drinks. We each got some chicken strips and a hot dog, and another beer. I also took a trip to the restroom where I immediately texted my roommate/sister/Twitter to say OMG WE ARE SITTING IN THE FRONT ROW! As I was walking back to the seats I had to be careful not to step on the court since, you know, there was a basketball game going on.

When the game ended (NJ won!) we walked back outside to our town car (how fancy does that sound??) and the driver drove us back to Manhattan. He dropped me off at my apartment and we started saying our goodbyes. I told him I really appreciated everything tonight and that the game was a lot of fun.

I went to hug him, but nope, he wanted a kiss. I wasn’t prepared for that at all. I’m sure I had a surprised look on my face like a deer in headlights. At least he wasn’t extremely aggressive and it was just a nice kiss goodnight on the lips. I told him I would talk to him soon and walked into my building.

As soon as I walked in the front door my roommate wanted all the details. I began talking about the guy and how he was really nice but we were both shy, etc. I handed her my ticket so I could tell her about the seats and she starts freaking out. That’s when she showed me the price of the ticket.

$1,300.00.


Thankfully, he didn’t actually pay for the tickets; he works with one of the owners of the team. But still… that’s insane.

I haven’t heard from him yet, but I’m excited to see what he comes up with for the second date.

I think I’m still in shock. I went on a date last night that cost over $2,600 (and that’s not even including the beers he bought us before we knew about the free food, or the town car service to and from the game).

How does something like that even happen?

34 responses to “And he was really nice too

  1. Wow-ee! I’d be in shock too!

    Good thing you had a good time, can you imagine the waste? πŸ˜‰

  2. sounds wonderful…i say enjoy it! it was a once in a lifetime kind of night.

  3. Ooooh I am jealous! How did you meet him, again?

  4. Holy cow! That’s pretty awesome. Even if he turns out to be a dud, it’s nice to be in the lap of luxury from time to time!

  5. How fun! I’m glad you had such a great time–I can’t wait to read what happens next!

  6. Good Girl Gone Blog

    OMG that is the most exciting first date story ever! Lol does he have any single friends…

  7. O-M-G…that’s too crazy..lots of money..lol!! But sounds like lots of fun!!

  8. Wickedly Scarlett

    Holy wow, lady! First of all, great sporty date look. Second, THIRTEEN HUNDRED DOLLAR TICKET!!! This is so Carrie and Big πŸ˜‰ Except your Big sounds way nicer!

  9. Fun! That sounds like a great first date!

  10. Oh wow, that’s crazy. And, I love how you sent texts and twittered in the bathroom.

  11. Aw! Sounds like a fun night!

  12. That’s amazing!! I just sat in seats that were $150 and I thought I was awesome, so you definitely win. And sounds like a great outfit!

  13. You deserve to be pampered like that. Yay for good first dates!

  14. That is an awesome first date! Plus the outfit sounds/looks cute!

  15. WOW!!
    I went to a very very expensive date with a guy..but things didnt work out for me, cause he was a big loser.. Reading about ur date, brought be me back to that day!!
    I mean, oooopss.. didnt wanna say that the same’s gonna happen for you…
    I sincerely hope you have more fun!!
    πŸ™‚

  16. Holy $hitballs! That is an awesome first date, its a like real life imitating movie kind of date. I am so excited for you! Sounds like it was a GREAT time. Wonder what he does for a second date?

  17. a mess of a dreamer.

    first: that was the perfect outfit!
    & second: $1,300???? geeeezus! the date sounds like it went as well as it could have, so yay for you! hope he calls for a 2nd. πŸ™‚

  18. Ahhhh! That’s amazing. I love your outfit.

    Did you want to kiss him or would you want to kiss him?

    It sounded like an amazing date-yaaay! I can’t wait to hear more.

  19. wow… awesome night. πŸ™‚

  20. First off, you look great. Love the outfit, casual and comfortable. Second, holy cow, town car and front row!!! I would have been freaking out too. Glad you had fun!

  21. oh my goodness! that sounds like so much fun! can’t wait to hear what happens next!

  22. What an amazing first date!! And sounds like the guy is a keeper so far too! Congrats!!

  23. Awww yay, that sounds like one of the best dates ever!! You better be keeping this story updated πŸ™‚

  24. Little Miss Obsessive

    Okay, first of all, perfect outfit choice! πŸ™‚ Second, sounds like a fabulous night.. can’t wait to hear more!

  25. wow that sounds like an awesome date. Very jealous!

  26. Sounds like an amazing night.
    I love the town car part of the evening most especially. It’s so New York to me.
    Glad you had a great time and that he was nice. Keep us posted =)

  27. little miss optimist

    Holy crap, that’s crazy!! That’s wonderful though…an awesome first date for sure =]

  28. Daaaamn, girl! That’s one hell of a date! Keep him around at least for another couple dates. I have to see what else is up his sleeve!

  29. well-intentioned heartbreaker

    ahhhh-mazing.

    i love it – he sounds awesome so far.

    and you looked spectac!

  30. ohmygoodness that is awesome and one hell of a first date. glad you had so much fun though, can’t wait to hear more πŸ™‚

  31. way cool! sounds like the kind of things that happen in movies..lol
    plus like the outfit super cute!

  32. This is my first time to your blog… and I already love it. πŸ™‚ It’s been really interesting to read your last few entries. (It’s also putting me in my I-miss-NYC mode, haha!)

    I’m glad to hear about this amazing first date you had! Can’t wait to see what he has in store for you the next time you guys hang out again.

    P.S – I think I might link your blog to mine, if you don’t mind? πŸ™‚

  33. Wow! That’s definitely a strong start for the guy – I hope you had a fun time, beyond the shock of the tickets. That could be something to get used to, huh?

  34. I’m late on this post but I think the outfit you chose was great!

    I can’t get over the price of those tickets! My goodness.

Leave a Reply

