A few more memories

I’ve been feeling a little sad lately and missing my dad a lot more that usual with the holidays coming up. I knew December was going to be a hard month for me. I knew I was going to be thinking about my dad and the memories would start flowing out. Here are a few.

Christmas was his favorite holiday. He loved to decorate the house, make special treats, and go shopping for presents. I have a red stocking hanging in my room here in New York. He bought it for me last year when he was visiting, saying that I needed a little Christmas Cheer in my apartment.

Me and my dad- Christmas 1985

He loved country music and anything to do with cowboys. We used to listen to Patty Loveless (and other old country singers) while driving around in his truck. He loved to go out dancing in his cowboy boots. Two-stepping was his favorite, but he was always up for any kind of dancing.

One summer we drove 10 hours to Amarillo and the entire way there he sang “Amarillo By Morning” by George Strait, but he changed the lyrics to “Armadillo By Morning”. I thought it was hilarious the first ten times, then it got annoying. He didn’t care. He thought it was funny.


Me and my dad- March 1986

When he came to visit me in NYC last December we walked by a fire station in SoHo. He made us stop so he could go inside and talk to the firemen. He wanted to learn all about their station and how it was different from his. I was embarrassed at how friendly he was being (it’s not very common on the streets of New York), but the firemen didn’t seem to mind. They bonded over the selflessness of their job.

Every time he saw a little kid he always tried to make them to laugh at his funny faces. He loved children. Growing up, he always took time to play with me and my sister. My favorite game was “horsey” where I rode on his back while he crawled on his hands and knees.

Me and my dad- March 1986

This is going to be my first Christmas without him. Even though we won’t be able to celebrate together, I’m going to take time out of that busy family-filled holiday to remember him and the special memories we shared together. I miss you, Dad.

33 responses to “A few more memories

  1. This is incredibly sweet.

  2. Aw I love the horsey picture! My dad also rocked the Burt Reynolds ‘stache.

  3. I’m sure he is still watching over you, so have a great Christmas for his sake, too! πŸ™‚
    I can’t really imagine how would it feel to lose my Dad, but I can understand you somehow. Anyway, don’t be sad – I’m sure he would be angry if you would be crying on the day of his favourite holiday!

  4. sarahbelledotcom

    Oh, Ashley, I love you so much. I am, as always, so sorry for your loss, but I am so happy that you have all these great memories with him.

    Keep the pictures, and journal the memories. My grandpa died a good while ago, and I still miss him so much. And it is frustrating, because I can hardly remember him. I have two very specific memories of being with him, but I saw him weekly when he was alive. I want those memories back.

    Make sure you keep yours.

    OX

  5. What a beautiful post Ashley! Hold tight to those cherished memories and know that your dad will be with you in spirit, probably trying to get you to smile at his funny faces.

  6. Wickedly Scarlett

    What a wonderful collection of memories! Your dad sounds like such a wonderful man, and I think that you’ll feel him with you on Christmas day. LOTS of hugs to you!!!

  7. This brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing your memories….

  8. I just spent the last 20 minutes going back through your posts and etc and all I can say is… wow. I am overcome with emotions and goosebumps. I’m happy that you remember your father in such a positive way and share it with the rest of us. I am sure he can read your posts, and that he’ll be there in spirit this Christmas.

    Sending you a huge hug. Through memories we can never forget.

  9. Awww, ash 😦 This makes me sad, but your being so strong!

  10. what a cute post. those pictures are priceless! it’s good to remember your dad the way you are, even if it is a little sad.

  11. I’m so glad that you have all these great memories to keep with you.

  12. such a sweet tribute.

  13. lifeintheleftlane

    This was such a sweet post. I went back and read your other ones about your dad and am tearing up a little. I’m sure your dad is watching you and hopes that you have a merry Christmas. Your happy memories will always keep your dad close to your heart.

  14. Brahmin in Boston

    Some parts of my life is similar to that of yours…

    1. Suffered the worst of heartbreaks my reason was so similar to that of yours

    2. Looooove brownies…

    3. Love HGTV!!!

  15. This is so sweet. I’m so sorry your dad is no longer with you, but I think your plan for commemorating him during Christmas is beautiful.

  16. This is so sweet. I’m so sorry your dad is no longer with you, but I think your plan for commemorating him during Christmas is beautiful.

  17. What a truly lovely post.

  18. the memories are what matter the most, as long as he’d in your heart, everything else will fall into place

  19. Miss Adventurous

    Your post was so touching, Ashley. I loved reading your memories. I can’t imagine how hard it is during the holidays but you’re so lucky you have so many great memories of him. My thoughts are with you!!

  20. This is such a sweet entry. Thanks for sharing your memories with all of us, Ashley *hug*

  21. aw, ashley. I’m so sorry for your loss..and I’ll remember to take a little time out of my day on Christmas and say a little prayer for you πŸ™‚

  22. aw this is such a sweet post and i love the pictures. a great way to remember πŸ™‚

  23. Trying to Stay Calm!

    Stopping by to say I hope you have a blessed and very Merry Christmas! β™₯ Hugs πŸ™‚ Shauna

  24. Such a sweet post – I will give my dad an extra big hug when I see him in your honour.

    Have a great Christmas, and good luck with coping miss. I can’t imagine. Be kind to yourself.

  25. This really touched me. Thanks for the reminder to cherish what I have while I have it. Enjoy all the beautiful new memories ahead!

  26. I feel you and know all too well where you’re coming from. I think our dads would have been good friends had they ever had the chance to meet.

    Never forget. πŸ™‚

  27. Oh hun. The first Christmas is hard, but at least for me, remembering the happy moments really helps. ❀

  28. Also, just wanted to let you know that I tagged you for a meme! πŸ™‚ It’s a fun one, I promise!

  29. Poignant

  30. im so sorry.
    this is supposed to be a happy time of year… and when it’s completley different than we are used to, it’s an adjustment.
    thinking of you and sending lots of e-hugs. xo

  31. Ashley, those pictures are so precious.

    Memories are so bittersweet. They’re precious but a painful reminder of what we’ve lost.

    Lots and lots of hugs.

  32. little miss optimist

    This is so sweet and so sad…:( I’m so sorry that you have to go through this so young, and I hope you still manage to have a great Christmas despite this..

  33. This post is so sweet, it’s making me tear up now. First off, the pictures are adorable and you two are too cute. It’s hard but sometimes reliving those memories are a nice thing to have and hold on to because they never fade away.

Leave a Reply

