How to Curl Your Hair With a Straightener

Also known as, “Ashley’s super exciting Saturday night”.

So, it’s Saturday night and I’m at home curling my hair for no other reason than I feel like it. No, I don’t have plans tonight. I’m not leaving my apartment and no one is coming here. I just wanted to curl my hair for fun. No judgment, please.

In this video blog you can learn how to curl your hair with a straightener, you can watch me knock over the camera with my leg, and you can listen to me talk about straightener brands and hair products. If none of this interests you, you will be much better off not watching the video. I won’t hold it against you. But if it does interest you, I hope you enjoy the video.

How to curl your hair with a straightener from AshleyD on Vimeo.

This isn’t all about me though. I’m also interested in your experience. Do you ever use a straightener to curl your hair? If not, what do you use (assuming you curl your hair)? Curling iron? Sponge curlers? (I have horrible memories of going to elementary school looking like Shirley Temple due to those, but that’s another story for another day.) Hot rollers? What do you find works best for you?

21 responses to “How to Curl Your Hair With a Straightener

  1. Ahhh, love your vlogs! I def. want to try that now, although my straightener is thicker, so I don’t know how well it would work out.

    My straightener just broke 😦 boo

  2. I really want to try this but because my straightener is bigger and more flat (because I have long thick hair) I don’t think it will work. I will be trying it though when I have access to my friends. 🙂

    I use hot rollers, because I can just throw them in, get ready, take them out then go. I sometimes also use a curling iron. Roller are just much faster.

  3. Good Girl Gone Blog

    Haha so I have a Chi and so does my friend Rachel, who says it’s the same as “Global Beauty Inc.” lol. I always end up burning myself when I try to curl my hair…we’ll see, maybe I’ll curl it tonight (it’ll be wasted on the lack of cute BU boys though…)

  4. You crack me up!! I straighten my hair about once a month or less…lol…I have CRAZY curly hair!

  5. insomniaclolita

    how i wish i could do that, my hair is straight but i always wanna style it..my lack of skill forces me to go to salon at least once a week 😦

  6. themanhattantransfer

    You have no idea how many wasted hours of my life I spent in college trying to teach my friends to Chi-curl their hair (as I called it).
    My hair is too long now, so I usually opt for velvety hot rollers, or curl my hair into loose waves with a 1 1/2 inch curling iron.

  7. and her heart it is in ireland

    I wish my hair would hold a curl. I’ve tried hot rollers and the sponge curlers, and after about 20 minutes – my hair is straight again.

    Loved the vblog though 🙂

  8. That was a good video! 🙂
    I don’t really need to curl my hair, because it’s kind of cool… I can straighten it, and it will stay like that for a while, but if I sprinkle some water on it (doesn’t matter whether it’s straight or not), it will become really curly, and that looks kind of great.

  9. I have tried using my GHDs before, but I don’t think I was doing it right! If I curl my hair, I use tongs, but it rarely happens because my hair is so thick, it takes forever!! Sucks, because I like my hair with wavy curls. 😥

    Great vid! :0)

  10. Oh my gosh! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

    I hate switching between my straightening iron and my curling iron – especially because I know I’m only doing it because I fail at this skill.

    I had *no idea* it was so simple. Thank you!!

  11. i bought the best curler set ever and it takes literally 5 minutes to get perfect curls! the remington t studio curler set.i put a post on how my hair which is stick straight and never held a curl before, turned into amazing curls. http://confessionsofachicagogirl.blogspot.com/2008/12/this-love-is-diffucult-but-its-real.html.

    loved your vlog!

  12. I am completely inept at doing anything with heated hair contraptions.

  13. I have such trouble curling my hair with a straightener even though everyone makes it look so easy. It’s really a lost cause anyway, because my hair doesn’t like to hold any curl but its own natural curl. Maybe I’ll give it another try when I’m bored, though. Love the vlog!

  14. Thanks for that! I’ve only tried curling it with my straightner once, before a wedding, and I burnt myself and the curls sometimes ended up a bit crease-y. I think I left the straightner in one spot for too long.
    So I gave up.

    I’ll have to try again sometime when I have time to practice.

  15. Oh my goodness… your hair turns out perfectly with that!!! I’ve heard about doing this before but never knew how. So after watching your video last night, I tried to do it before I went out, and it was a major fail. Maybe my hair isn’t long enough? I think I was probably just doing it wrong. Usually, I use a curling iron (like 1″) to curl my hair when I have time! 🙂

  16. Great video! Let me just tell you, that my hair is so insanely stick straight, that I can’t get it to hold a curl what so ever. When I was about 13, I got a chemical perm, and it fell out in less than a week. Suckkkks.

  17. Thank you so much for the tip! I tried it this weekend and the curls lasted a whole 24 hours (they were still there when I woke up this morning!) Now when I travel I’ll only have to take one hair tool!

  18. hahah I wanted to do this the other day but decided I was too lazy too.

  19. sarahbelledotcom

    I took my work speakers home for the weekend? (That sounds like they are a class pet or something. Long story, whatever, whatever, basically they aren’t here and I just watched your video noiseless. I will re-watch tonight with SOUND).

    My hair falls in ringlets, so I never really have the need to curl it? But when I straighten it, I often use a curling iron to add some wave to it..

    I really should have waited until I watched the video with sound before commenting.. Hah.

  20. Best way to curl your hair for sure!

  21. Best way to curl your hair for sure!

Leave a Reply

