With a flower and some coffee

I had my first date with M from eHarmony last night. Yes, I said first date… because we already have date #2 planned- we’re meeting for lunch on Wednesday.

Obviously the date last night went well.

I met him at the restaurant at 6pm and he was waiting outside for me. He was a bit cuter than I expected which is always a good thing. We hugged hello, had a little awkward “nice to meet you” moment, and he told me I looked beautiful.

The most unexpected moment happened once we were seated at our table. He handed me a pink rose. He even said, “You made it easy for me because you said your favorite color was pink.” Awww, 10 points for you!

Men, take note: if you want to impress a girl on a date, give her a flower.

We had dinner and it was delicious. Crab cakes for the appetizer, filet mignon, and chocolate ganache cake for dessert. We were both amazed by the food because neither of us usually eat at such fancy restaurants.

After dinner we walked a couple blocks to Starbucks where we sat for four more hours talking. He was a good listener and was interested in what I had to say. He asked about my family, my education, my friends, my hobbies, my goals and dreams.

There was never a low point in the conversation. He was funny, sincere, and interesting. He loves his job and is ambitious, but not to the point where it is the focus of his life. He enjoys hiking and camping, and he’s training for a marathon. He’s close to his family and wants to have his own children one day. All good things.

Around midnight the baristas kicked us out because they were closing. He asked if he could see me again on Wednesday. I said yes. We set up a lunch date since it was the only time that worked with both of our schedules.

There wasn’t a kiss at the end of the night, but I didn’t mind. We hugged and said we’d be in touch.

And if the chivalry, amazing food, great conversation, and fun night weren’t enough, I know it was a good date because I didn’t want it to end.

53 responses to “With a flower and some coffee

  1. Oh, that’s great! He didn’t just give you a flower, but even remembered your favorite color. I’m going to have to give match.com or eharmony a try one of these days. The whole thing seems very intimidating to me.

  2. Tristan | the almost right word

    Wow! That sounds like a wonderful first date!! Congrats! Look forward to hearing about Wednesday’s lunch!!

  3. This is great! And I am actually happier when they don’t try and kiss me at the end… or if there is a kiss it is just a little one… it leaves a little something to think about after the next date!

  4. Sounds like a perfect first date!

  5. aww that sounds like the perfect first date :]

  6. wow this sounds absolutely perfect! I’m so happy for you! Fill us in on the lunch date 🙂

  7. Good dates are hard to come by- glad you had one!

  8. that’s great!! glad you had such a nice night!

  9. wow he remembered your favorite color! a lot of guys would remember things like that! your so lucky.. hope all goes well on your next date!

  10. That’s awesome Ashley! Congrats! It’s nice to know that there are some decent men still out there. 😉

  11. Wickedly Scarlett

    That sounds incredible! What an amazing date 🙂 I can’t wait to hear about the next one!

  12. awww yay that sounds like one hell of a date, i love it. and seriously props for the rose guy, nice job! 🙂

  13. (delurking!!)

    the four hours in the coffee shop sounds amazing! my favorite part, for sure…

  14. Ahhh I love it! So glad you had such a nice first date and hope the second one is just as good 🙂

  15. Ashley that is great!! So excited for you and I hope the second date is just as awesome. (And the flower, I totally just aaaaaawwwww’d at my desk).

  16. lucky you — what a fantastic first date.

  17. Yay! 😀

    You deserve it!

  18. Oh, that sounds so wonderful! Congrats on such a great first date!

  19. Wow that sounds like an amazing date!! Hope your next one goes well!

  20. Aww it sounds like you had a great time! He seems like a very thoughtful and genuine person. I hope the next date is great too! You’ll have to post about it because now I’m on the edge of my seat.

  21. goodgirlgoneblog

    That sounds wonderful!!

  22. sarahbelledotcom

    Ooooh Ashley! That is all sorts of lovely. Just the kind of date to get you back in the swing of things!
    Hope lunch on Wednesday is amazing!
    Oxo

  23. This date sounds like it went soo well!! How cute with the flower. He sounds like a great guy too. I hope that the lunch date goes well! 🙂

  24. Yay! Sounds like an awesome date. Hop the 2nd one is just as good!

  25. Princess Extraordinaire

    I am so excited for you!! I cant wait to hear about Wednesday! Yay – chivalry is NOT dead!

  26. insomniaclolita

    EXCITINGGG 🙂 if you can talk that long with a man, it must be because you really like him. Good for you. Good luck for the second date

  27. Classy in Philadelphia

    YAY!!!! Potential new boyfriend! I’m SOOO excited for you, you have no idea. He sounds like such a sweet guy! Pink rose? AWW. Hooray, hooray, hooray!

  28. i’m so excited for you!!! awwh i want a new boy in my life 🙂

  29. that’s probably the greatest first day ever. congrats!

  30. I am so glad I got to live vicariously through that amazing date just now.

  31. Good for you girl, glad it went well!

    FYI: I had a guy tell me he wants a woman into the swinging lifestyle, WTF?

  32. Aw that’s awesome!!! I can’t wait to hear more about this relationship. I really hope it works out!

  33. yay!!! Glad you had a good time~

  34. themanhattantransfer

    Great dates are rare- great first dates even more so! Good for you.

  35. I’m so happy that your first date went well!! Can’t wait to hear what happens next!

  36. Awww – that’s great! 😀 Hope tomorrow’s date is even better!

  37. and her heart it is in ireland

    How exciting 🙂

    Sounds like a fabulous first date and a great guy!

  38. How exciting! Sounds like the perfect date!

  39. I’m really happy the date with M went so well, and I can’t wait to hear how Wednesday’s lunch goes!

  40. You deserve this!!!! 🙂

    I’m so happy to hear that it went well. He sounds like a great catch! I’m looking forward to hearing about Wednesday – as are about.. oh.. 50 other people! 🙂

  41. oh that is so awesome 🙂 congrats & have fun on wednesday! can't wait to hear all about it!

  42. Oh how fantastic is that? Congrats! Enjoy your date tomorrow!

  43. Aw! What a great date! That’s exciting! I always am so curious who I would get paired with on that site. Maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to try it out.

  44. a mess of a dreamer.

    aww, yay! (you talked for four hours?!?! wow…) congrats on the date going well enough to schedule date #2.

  45. What a nice first date – It’s nice to read about people who have good experiences dating… I know it’s a wild world out there – so it’s good you had a nice one.

  46. Holy crap that date went well.

  47. Yayyy! I can’t wait to hear how tomorrow goes. Good dates are seriously the best! Ahhh!

  48. How exciting! That’s so nice to hear. Let us know how Wednesday’s lunch is!

  49. Awww! Good luck tonight on date 2!

  50. notthelifeiordered

    That’s so great! I’m so glad it went well 🙂 And how cute about the flower?! I love when guys remember little things like that. Good luck on your date today!

  51. Aw, this totally makes me happy. For a guy to do that well on a first date? He is a peach, for sure. 🙂 Sounds like he was genuine enough to be real, and sweet enough to go out of his way to impress you with a great dinner and even a flower.

    I’m so happy for you. 🙂

  52. seriously sounds awesome! Is he adorable too?

  53. Sounds like a GREAT 1st date! Pink flower, yummy dinner, coffee, and conversation…? Nice job!

Leave a Reply

