One step closer

Thank you all so much for your support and encouragement yesterday! You are all amazing. I really cannot tell you how much I appreciate your comments and sweet thoughts. You helped me feel more confident which I know helped me work better in the session. Thank you!

I wasn’t really sure what to write about today. I began writing about the session yesterday and how I felt about it, but it felt much too confidential to share with the whole internets. I don’t want anyone to read it who isn’t supposed to, so I will have to err on the side of caution this time.

I think it’s a good decision for my career too. I don’t want to begin blogging about my clients (duh). This blog is supposed to be about me which would usually mean I write what I think/feel/wonder/etc., but because of my career people come to me with their life stories which are not mine to share. I will share my opinions about certain things that happen to me as a therapist, but most of the time I am going to try to be more reserved.

So just know that the session went well. I was nervous at the beginning, but within a few minutes I became more relaxed and comfortable. The client shared the reason they want counseling, I offered my support. We completed the intake questions. We laughed to ease the awkwardness. We talked for fifty minutes and scheduled our next appointment for the following week.

In counseling they tell you that the point of the first session is to get the client to come back for session #2.

I think it was a success.

42 responses to “One step closer

  1. Congrats! I’m glad it went well. I definitely agree about the blogging thing. As a therapist you’ll be caring for many others. It’s important to take care of yourself too. That’s why it’s completely okay to blog for yourself. Plus the line of confidentiality is important. Congrats and good luck on the second session!

  2. Congrats! I’m glad it went well. I definitely agree about the blogging thing. As a therapist you’ll be caring for many others. It’s important to take care of yourself too. That’s why it’s completely okay to blog for yourself. Plus the line of confidentiality is important. Congrats and good luck on the second session!

  3. Congrats!

  4. Congrats!

  5. I’m glad it went well and that you were cautious about blogging about the session. Confidentiality is a big thing when building trust and rapport with a client. It is also very important in the first session to establish that you are there to help, to set in motion a trusting relationship, both become aware of termination, and that you gain a thorough assessment of the clients wants, needs, and goals of treatment. Assess, Assess, Assess is very important.

    I had a breakthrough using the Empty Chair technique. So thank you for sharing it made me go and make sure I was prepared.

  6. I’m glad it went well and that you were cautious about blogging about the session. Confidentiality is a big thing when building trust and rapport with a client. It is also very important in the first session to establish that you are there to help, to set in motion a trusting relationship, both become aware of termination, and that you gain a thorough assessment of the clients wants, needs, and goals of treatment. Assess, Assess, Assess is very important.

    I had a breakthrough using the Empty Chair technique. So thank you for sharing it made me go and make sure I was prepared.

  7. Alright! That’s awesome!

  8. Alright! That’s awesome!

  9. Yay! I am so glad that it went well for you Ashley! You are going to be an awesome therapist.

  10. Yay! I am so glad that it went well for you Ashley! You are going to be an awesome therapist.

  11. Yay! Glad things went well! I know my first appts are sometimes weird with new people, but by their second- it’s completely comfortable. And THEN by their last appt, it’s hard to say goodbye!

  12. Yay! Glad things went well! I know my first appts are sometimes weird with new people, but by their second- it’s completely comfortable. And THEN by their last appt, it’s hard to say goodbye!

  13. I definitely think its wise to err on the side of caution. Glad to hear it went well!

  14. I definitely think its wise to err on the side of caution. Glad to hear it went well!

  15. Well, then. Good job!! Glad to hear it went well!

  16. Well, then. Good job!! Glad to hear it went well!

  17. Yay! That’s great news.

    And it’s totally understandable why you wouldn’t want to share all the details with the web. One more reason you’re going to be great at what you do!

  18. Yay! That’s great news.

    And it’s totally understandable why you wouldn’t want to share all the details with the web. One more reason you’re going to be great at what you do!

  19. yay! so glad it went well for you!

  20. yay! so glad it went well for you!

  21. congrats!

  22. congrats!

  23. Wickedly Scarlett

    I’m so proud of you!

  24. Wickedly Scarlett

    I’m so proud of you!

  25. That’s great that they scheduled with you again! Congrats =)

  26. That’s great that they scheduled with you again! Congrats =)

  27. sarahbelledotcom

    See? You are so stellar.
    Congrats on the successful session, and another one in the works =)

  28. sarahbelledotcom

    See? You are so stellar.
    Congrats on the successful session, and another one in the works =)

  29. Classy in Philadelphia

    Yay! Congrats. I’m sorry I didn’t get to wish you luck yesterday…I didn’t read any blogs all day! Crazy! I’m catching up now. I’m so excited for you and your career that’s about to take off!

  30. Classy in Philadelphia

    Yay! Congrats. I’m sorry I didn’t get to wish you luck yesterday…I didn’t read any blogs all day! Crazy! I’m catching up now. I’m so excited for you and your career that’s about to take off!

  31. Woo!! Congrats!

    And yes, we love you but don’t ever tell us anything about any of your clients ever. For your sake.

  32. Woo!! Congrats!

    And yes, we love you but don’t ever tell us anything about any of your clients ever. For your sake.

  33. Hey congratsss πŸ™‚

  34. Hey congratsss πŸ™‚

  35. I’m giving you a cute award! Cus you’re just so cute! Visit my site:

    http://fab.typepad.com

  36. I’m giving you a cute award! Cus you’re just so cute! Visit my site:

    http://fab.typepad.com

  37. nicoleantoinette

    Spectacular.

  38. nicoleantoinette

    Spectacular.

  39. good glad to hear it went well!! Good luck with the new direction in your career!

  40. good glad to hear it went well!! Good luck with the new direction in your career!

  41. I’m catching up on your blog – I’m happy to hear your session went well. πŸ™‚

    I honestly think the first session goal is to establish if the therapeutic relationship will be a good fit. You’ll find clients that you don’t want to work with, and there will be clients who don’t want to work with you. It’s not personal – just that gut feeling.

    I hope it continues going well! πŸ™‚ It’s the most rewarding job in the world – but then again – I’m completely biased! πŸ™‚

  42. I’m catching up on your blog – I’m happy to hear your session went well. πŸ™‚

    I honestly think the first session goal is to establish if the therapeutic relationship will be a good fit. You’ll find clients that you don’t want to work with, and there will be clients who don’t want to work with you. It’s not personal – just that gut feeling.

    I hope it continues going well! πŸ™‚ It’s the most rewarding job in the world – but then again – I’m completely biased! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

