I Love New York

I was supposed to publish this post on Monday, but since I was stuck in Las Vegas without internet for a few days, I’m publishing it now. This was written by Jess at Classy in Philadelphia. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you must do so immediately!

I have a love/hate relationship with New York City.

Living in Philadelphia, NYC is a short two hour bus or train ride away, so I’ve had my fair share of day trips to the Big Apple. In middle school, we took two trips a year to the city to see Broadway shows. Every time I crossed the Lincoln Tunnel (attempting to hold my breath and make a wish, of course), I was filled with excitement. New York just seemed so magical. It was so full of possibilities. I stared out the bus window as we drove through a sea of taxis fascinated. I loved the hustle and bustle, all the people rushing around.

So naturally when I had to apply to college, New York was the first place I visited. I looked at a few schools in the city, and Hofstra University on Long Island. I ended up going to Hofstra University (only for a semester). I was excited at the prospect of “the city being a short train ride away!” Wrong. It was at least an hour and two trains away. Not so convenient. When I did make the trek into the city, I always had a good time, but instead of feeling excited by the hustle and bustle, I was overwhelmed by it. I found myself feeling uncomfortable walking down the crowded city streets. Standing in Penn Station during rush hour was a crazy experience in itself.

I think that my time at Hofstra tainted my view of NYC. Everyone always asks me if I’m going to move to New York after college to pursue public relations. I mean, NYC is the center of everything. It houses some of the best PR firms in the world. Wouldn’t it be natural for me to want to move there and start a career in the big city? At this point in time, I’d say no, I probably won’t move to NYC, but who knows?

I feel like I didn’t have NYC a proper chance. A few bad and overwhelming experiences shouldn’t ruin my image of an entire city. After reading lots of blogs written by fabulous New Yorkers (like Ashley!) I feel that there may be something about the city that I haven’t discovered yet. Maybe sometime in my future, I’ll be able to give New York City the chance that it deserves.

What do you love or hate about New York City? Do you see yourself living there at some point in your life?

26 responses to “I Love New York

  1. i luuuurve NYC. i think it’s the general energy of the city – everything is so fast-paced and always raring to go. maybe it’s a jaded view since i’m not a resident, but i would definitely live there if i could.

  2. i luuuurve NYC. i think it’s the general energy of the city – everything is so fast-paced and always raring to go. maybe it’s a jaded view since i’m not a resident, but i would definitely live there if i could.

  3. I think its fun to visit but I dont know if I could ever live there. I love my small town. NYC overwhelms me as well.

  4. I think its fun to visit but I dont know if I could ever live there. I love my small town. NYC overwhelms me as well.

  5. insomniaclolita

    I love it! So far I’ve only been there like 8 times for the past 5 years. It’s magical especially for a big city girl, which I suspect I always am. I dont know about living there..maybe to get LLM degree someday but I dont see it happening anytime soon ( i hate school ) šŸ™‚

  6. insomniaclolita

    I love it! So far I’ve only been there like 8 times for the past 5 years. It’s magical especially for a big city girl, which I suspect I always am. I dont know about living there..maybe to get LLM degree someday but I dont see it happening anytime soon ( i hate school ) šŸ™‚

  7. Wearing Mascara

    I looove Jess’s blog and so happy to see her here (although obvi I love Ashley D too otherwise I wouldn’t have visited). Anyways, I couldn’t see myself living in NYC unless something crazy happened in my life to change it. To me it’s not realistic and too damn expensive. I love visiting, however and will continue to do that! Great post! xoxo

  8. Wearing Mascara

    I looove Jess’s blog and so happy to see her here (although obvi I love Ashley D too otherwise I wouldn’t have visited). Anyways, I couldn’t see myself living in NYC unless something crazy happened in my life to change it. To me it’s not realistic and too damn expensive. I love visiting, however and will continue to do that! Great post! xoxo

  9. It has always been my dream to be part of NYC and not as a visitor. I love being a “part” of something and the possibilities. However, being a social worker..finding a job that pays well so I can actually live there is impossible. so I will be content right now visiting friends and reading blogs where I just feel really jealous after and go through a “I hate where I live” tantrum.

  10. It has always been my dream to be part of NYC and not as a visitor. I love being a “part” of something and the possibilities. However, being a social worker..finding a job that pays well so I can actually live there is impossible. so I will be content right now visiting friends and reading blogs where I just feel really jealous after and go through a “I hate where I live” tantrum.

  11. I’ve only been once, and that was 10+ years ago; I still remember a few things, though. I always dreamed of living there, but my husband would never go for it. I’m from the city in Florida, but he has lived in a small town in Tennessee his entire life (we now live there together)… He’s not a city boy. šŸ™‚

  12. I’ve only been once, and that was 10+ years ago; I still remember a few things, though. I always dreamed of living there, but my husband would never go for it. I’m from the city in Florida, but he has lived in a small town in Tennessee his entire life (we now live there together)… He’s not a city boy. šŸ™‚

  13. erin - heart in ireland

    I love the city. Living in northwest Jersey, it was only a short train ride or drive away. I have a bunch of friends who now live there and would love to one day for a few years just to actually know the city and experience more than just day trips. So hopefully!

  14. erin - heart in ireland

    I love the city. Living in northwest Jersey, it was only a short train ride or drive away. I have a bunch of friends who now live there and would love to one day for a few years just to actually know the city and experience more than just day trips. So hopefully!

  15. I loved NYC and could totally see myself living there. I, just like you, was fascinated with the city and absolutely wanted to move there after college.
    I am 100% a Midwestern girl though, now that I’m older I don’t think I would make it. Especially not alone. I have lived other places since college, specifically the South and nothing ever compared to home in the Midwest.
    If I moved there I definitely see the same thing happening to me but there’s still that little part of me that wants to experience firsthand living there!

  16. I loved NYC and could totally see myself living there. I, just like you, was fascinated with the city and absolutely wanted to move there after college.
    I am 100% a Midwestern girl though, now that I’m older I don’t think I would make it. Especially not alone. I have lived other places since college, specifically the South and nothing ever compared to home in the Midwest.
    If I moved there I definitely see the same thing happening to me but there’s still that little part of me that wants to experience firsthand living there!

  17. I certainly do not think you are alone, Jess. Most people seem to have a love/hate relationship with NYC. Even myself! One day as I walk down the streets, I smile thinking about how lovely this place is. And the next day? I’m angry and irritable and hating everything about this place. It has certainly balanced out over the time that I have lived here and NYC does now seem like ‘home’.

    However, I’m a country girl. I grew up on a farm. I like cows/horses/fields. I certainly will not spend the majority of my life in NYC and will definitely end up back in the Midwest (maybe rural Iowa). It’s an experience and I’m glad I gave it a shot (as you should be).

  18. I certainly do not think you are alone, Jess. Most people seem to have a love/hate relationship with NYC. Even myself! One day as I walk down the streets, I smile thinking about how lovely this place is. And the next day? I’m angry and irritable and hating everything about this place. It has certainly balanced out over the time that I have lived here and NYC does now seem like ‘home’.

    However, I’m a country girl. I grew up on a farm. I like cows/horses/fields. I certainly will not spend the majority of my life in NYC and will definitely end up back in the Midwest (maybe rural Iowa). It’s an experience and I’m glad I gave it a shot (as you should be).

  19. I live in LA but I’ve never been to the East Coast. One day…..

  20. I live in LA but I’ve never been to the East Coast. One day…..

  21. I’m pretty much a native new yorker. I had long post musing about this New York love thing on my blog today, because I’m growing out of love with it, from possibly living here forever, I do love the idea of New York still though.

  22. I’m pretty much a native new yorker. I had long post musing about this New York love thing on my blog today, because I’m growing out of love with it, from possibly living here forever, I do love the idea of New York still though.

  23. I went to Hofstra! And the city wasnt too far, it was a 30 train ride for me!

  24. I went to Hofstra! And the city wasnt too far, it was a 30 train ride for me!

  25. I haven’t been to NYC in YEARS. I love the idea of it, but it’s just so damn expensive. I can’t see myself ever being able to afford it.

  26. I haven’t been to NYC in YEARS. I love the idea of it, but it’s just so damn expensive. I can’t see myself ever being able to afford it.

Leave a Reply

