Where do I go from here?

I graduate in 55 days.

My original plan was to stay in New York, get a job somewhere in the city, and move into a somewhat nicer apartment where I would have enough room for a dresser and a bed in my room (shocking!). I don’t see that plan coming to life anymore. I’ve been job searching for weeks and have found nothing. New York, where are all your jobs? I thought the counseling field was growing, but obviously not in this city.

My friends and family have been suggesting that I move back to Texas. At first I dreaded the idea. Living in the same city as my family seemed like torture and much more stress than I preferred. But now I’m reconsidering it. There are many more job opportunities in Texas. The cost of living is cheaper. I could pay off my loans quicker. Several of my best friends would be minutes away. The apartments are much bigger. I wouldn’t have to worry about taking public transportation every day. All good things.
As for being close to my family? The idea is growing on me. I miss my mom. I call her almost every day because I want to talk to her. My heart literally aches because I haven’t seen my sister in 3 months. My grandpa is getting older and as much as I would like to think that he’ll be around forever, I know he won’t. So maybe moving to Texas isn’t such a bad idea.
Of course I would miss New York, but I could always come visit. And I think this city is much more forgiving and welcoming when you are only here for a few days at a time.

Who knows? Maybe in a few months I’ll be leaving this great city and embarking on a new adventure down in Texas. Maybe.

48 responses to “Where do I go from here?

  1. remember moments

    I loved Texas when I lived there and I still miss it. (Dallas area). It might be a great place for you to go initially and you can always move back to NYC later on in life. At least in the meantime, you’ll have less expenses and be able to pay off your school loans a lot faster.

  2. Wearing Mascara

    I struggle with this constantly and as I’ll be graduating soon too, the thought continues to cross my mind.

    I know you’ll figure it out and wherever life takes you is where you’re supposed to be 🙂

  3. remember moments

    I loved Texas when I lived there and I still miss it. (Dallas area). It might be a great place for you to go initially and you can always move back to NYC later on in life. At least in the meantime, you’ll have less expenses and be able to pay off your school loans a lot faster.

  4. Wearing Mascara

    I struggle with this constantly and as I’ll be graduating soon too, the thought continues to cross my mind.

    I know you’ll figure it out and wherever life takes you is where you’re supposed to be 🙂

  5. After I graduated, I ended up moving back to my hometown even though I wasn’t too thrilled at the idea. I live 10 minutes from my mom and 40 minutes from my dad, but I still only see them when I want to. It’s definitely different living near your parents but having your own life.

  6. After I graduated, I ended up moving back to my hometown even though I wasn’t too thrilled at the idea. I live 10 minutes from my mom and 40 minutes from my dad, but I still only see them when I want to. It’s definitely different living near your parents but having your own life.

  7. I’ve always admired the folks that can move so far away from their safety nets to pursue a dream, whether it’s school, a job, love, or just anything. I’d LOVE the opportunity to do this still, but I know that deep down in my heart, I will come back to Minnesota because this is home, this is family, and this is where my friends and life are. So… I think you’re considering very smart things for why you’d move back, and it will be another adventure all together to start the next chapter of your life, no matter where that happens.

  8. I’ve always admired the folks that can move so far away from their safety nets to pursue a dream, whether it’s school, a job, love, or just anything. I’d LOVE the opportunity to do this still, but I know that deep down in my heart, I will come back to Minnesota because this is home, this is family, and this is where my friends and life are. So… I think you’re considering very smart things for why you’d move back, and it will be another adventure all together to start the next chapter of your life, no matter where that happens.

  9. I moved back to my parents house for about 8months after I graduated. Granted it was because my grandfather’s health was failing and I needed some family time before moving on with my own life, but it was a good decision. I saved up some money and now I live alone and an hour away from my family. So really… being around the family again isn’t so bad.

  10. I moved back to my parents house for about 8months after I graduated. Granted it was because my grandfather’s health was failing and I needed some family time before moving on with my own life, but it was a good decision. I saved up some money and now I live alone and an hour away from my family. So really… being around the family again isn’t so bad.

  11. I find it so exciting and also terrifying that I could move anywhere. I guess I just don’t feel like I have a safety net under me anymore, and that makes me nervous when there are so few jobs to go around.

    But, good luck with your decision, Ashley. Whatever you choose, it’s not forever, so you could end up back in NY again.

  12. I find it so exciting and also terrifying that I could move anywhere. I guess I just don’t feel like I have a safety net under me anymore, and that makes me nervous when there are so few jobs to go around.

    But, good luck with your decision, Ashley. Whatever you choose, it’s not forever, so you could end up back in NY again.

  13. I was in a similar situation as you… finishing grad school in a big city, and not knowing where to go.
    I ended up following my heart, and ending up in Texas. Best decision I could have made.
    Follow your heart, that’s the best advice I can give!
    Good luck with your decision!!

  14. I was in a similar situation as you… finishing grad school in a big city, and not knowing where to go.
    I ended up following my heart, and ending up in Texas. Best decision I could have made.
    Follow your heart, that’s the best advice I can give!
    Good luck with your decision!!

  15. I have a career and my own life but I live 3 miles from my parents. I actually don’t see them as often as you would think. It’s nice to be near family after such a long time.

    And really with the way the economy is going you could use all the help you can get by saving money and more opportunities.

    Good Luck!

  16. I have a career and my own life but I live 3 miles from my parents. I actually don’t see them as often as you would think. It’s nice to be near family after such a long time.

    And really with the way the economy is going you could use all the help you can get by saving money and more opportunities.

    Good Luck!

  17. It’s so exciting when you move onto your next phase in life. However it can also be super stressful. I would tell you not to limit yourself to either BYC or Texas. Why not go to a totally different city to start new?

  18. It’s so exciting when you move onto your next phase in life. However it can also be super stressful. I would tell you not to limit yourself to either BYC or Texas. Why not go to a totally different city to start new?

  19. Bitter sweet I’m sure. There’s positives and negatives to all decisions, but sometimes these decisions are just made for you. (Like job opportunities or lack thereof). The best we can do is adjust our attitudes accordingly and be happy with what is in front of us!

  20. Bitter sweet I’m sure. There’s positives and negatives to all decisions, but sometimes these decisions are just made for you. (Like job opportunities or lack thereof). The best we can do is adjust our attitudes accordingly and be happy with what is in front of us!

  21. insomniaclolita

    Agree with above comments, totally different city might be nice 🙂 And I could see the appeal in moving back, there’s nothing nicer than being surrounded by people who are close to you. The security and the comfort are promising. I hope you’ll find your answer soon..

  22. insomniaclolita

    Agree with above comments, totally different city might be nice 🙂 And I could see the appeal in moving back, there’s nothing nicer than being surrounded by people who are close to you. The security and the comfort are promising. I hope you’ll find your answer soon..

  23. I thought about moving to TX, but I’ve still never been. I think Philly has sucked me in.

  24. I thought about moving to TX, but I’ve still never been. I think Philly has sucked me in.

  25. I was born, raised and attend college all within the state of Oregon. When I graduated from college in 2007, I high-tailed it out to NYC. Now I’m in a serious relationship, and I’m starting to have all these thoughts about family, friends, growing old and all that fun stuff and I keep thinking how nice it would be to have the support of my family to do that. I don’t know when I’d move or anything, but heading home (which for me is Portland, Oregon) is definitely something I’ve been thinking more about.

  26. I was born, raised and attend college all within the state of Oregon. When I graduated from college in 2007, I high-tailed it out to NYC. Now I’m in a serious relationship, and I’m starting to have all these thoughts about family, friends, growing old and all that fun stuff and I keep thinking how nice it would be to have the support of my family to do that. I don’t know when I’d move or anything, but heading home (which for me is Portland, Oregon) is definitely something I’ve been thinking more about.

  27. Hi Ashley, I really like your blog because it’s so honest. Graduation always opens up a ton of possibilities. You don’t know what nice surprises might be awaiting you back in Texas. When I deliberate about the future, I always go back one year in my head and I realize more often than not my worst fears have just been fears and things often don’t go as planned and good things always seem to come through. Believe that and you’ll do just fine!

  28. Hi Ashley, I really like your blog because it’s so honest. Graduation always opens up a ton of possibilities. You don’t know what nice surprises might be awaiting you back in Texas. When I deliberate about the future, I always go back one year in my head and I realize more often than not my worst fears have just been fears and things often don’t go as planned and good things always seem to come through. Believe that and you’ll do just fine!

  29. Erin [aka E.Wiggle™]

    I think you answered your own questions. Texas seems like where you need to go. You can always move back to NY once you figure out what you want to do and get a job and everything.

  30. Erin [aka E.Wiggle™]

    I think you answered your own questions. Texas seems like where you need to go. You can always move back to NY once you figure out what you want to do and get a job and everything.

  31. I do what I want!

    I just had an academic advising today and was told I only needed 11 more classes to graduate. I know that is a lot longer than you have but I kinda know what you are going through. Everything seems so uncertain after college and it is scary to think about having to get a real job in the real world. No more college to fall back on (unless you want to be a pro student haha). As for moving to Texas I think you should do whatever your heart tells you to! I know it is hard to decide but in the end whatever happens will be the best! Good luck!

  32. I do what I want!

    I just had an academic advising today and was told I only needed 11 more classes to graduate. I know that is a lot longer than you have but I kinda know what you are going through. Everything seems so uncertain after college and it is scary to think about having to get a real job in the real world. No more college to fall back on (unless you want to be a pro student haha). As for moving to Texas I think you should do whatever your heart tells you to! I know it is hard to decide but in the end whatever happens will be the best! Good luck!

  33. i always vote for change even though i haven’t done too much of it i don’t think it’d be a bad idea 🙂

  34. i always vote for change even though i haven’t done too much of it i don’t think it’d be a bad idea 🙂

  35. Texas or New York …I don’t think you can go wrong. They are both amazing places! Good Luck@ I will be following

  36. Texas or New York …I don’t think you can go wrong. They are both amazing places! Good Luck@ I will be following

  37. good luck lady, i think whichever place you end up in will bring you good times and great people 🙂 you can’t go wrong here!

  38. good luck lady, i think whichever place you end up in will bring you good times and great people 🙂 you can’t go wrong here!

  39. The beautiful thing about life is that it can take us anywhere. Places we never thought we’d go and sometimes it brings us back home. Follow your heart, you can never go wrong when you do that. Stay open to all the possibilities. I can’t wait to read about it.

  40. The beautiful thing about life is that it can take us anywhere. Places we never thought we’d go and sometimes it brings us back home. Follow your heart, you can never go wrong when you do that. Stay open to all the possibilities. I can’t wait to read about it.

  41. Gwen B. (aka skinny bitch)

    I think going back to Texas sound like the best option for you and you never know, you could start your career there and after making some money maybe you will get a job offer in NY when you are more establish and financially secure. I think it would be for the best if you go back to Texas 🙂

  42. Gwen B. (aka skinny bitch)

    I think going back to Texas sound like the best option for you and you never know, you could start your career there and after making some money maybe you will get a job offer in NY when you are more establish and financially secure. I think it would be for the best if you go back to Texas 🙂

  43. nicoleantoinette

    When I moved to NYC for college I never, ever, EVER thought I’d return back to Southern California. And yet, here I am. Sometimes you just have to do what makes sense at the time, even if it doesn’t fit in with your original plan.

    Plans change, people change, and I really believe that saying “when one door closes, another opens.”

  44. nicoleantoinette

    When I moved to NYC for college I never, ever, EVER thought I’d return back to Southern California. And yet, here I am. Sometimes you just have to do what makes sense at the time, even if it doesn’t fit in with your original plan.

    Plans change, people change, and I really believe that saying “when one door closes, another opens.”

  45. I say do it!

  46. I say do it!

  47. ♥ Tiffany ♥

    i agree with shannon! do it!! home is a safefun place and its alot easier to move where its cheaper, better weather, you can get a job, and i hear texas boys are pretty cute!1

  48. ♥ Tiffany ♥

    i agree with shannon! do it!! home is a safefun place and its alot easier to move where its cheaper, better weather, you can get a job, and i hear texas boys are pretty cute!1

Leave a Reply

