Graduation Dresses

As I’ve said, I’m graduating soon… actually, six weeks from today. There are two commencement ceremonies for my school, one Tuesday afternoon and one Wednesday morning. I’ve started thinking about what I want to wear to both because you can never start planning too early. A dress is the obvious choice, but that’s as far as I gotten. I want to buy at least one, possibly two if my budget can allow it. And because it’s much more fun than writing 15 page papers and applying to jobs, I’ve started browsing online. I haven’t tried on any of the dresses, but I will once I narrow down my choices. There are quite a few dresses that I love, and this is where you come in to help. Here are the contenders.

Dress #1:


Dress 2:

Also available in lavender, white, and silver.

Dress 3:


Dress 4:

Also available in black.

Dress 5:

Also available in black, brown, pink, white, and orange.

So what do you think? What would you wear if you were graduating? Do you like one of these dresses better than the others? Or should I just keep looking?

117 responses to “Graduation Dresses

  1. This is too funny, I’m looking for a graduation dress too! If I had more readers I’d take a poll, cute idea! I like dresses 2 and 5.

  2. This is too funny, I’m looking for a graduation dress too! If I had more readers I’d take a poll, cute idea! I like dresses 2 and 5.

  3. I’m in love with 2…I think Silver would be nice along with pink πŸ™‚

  4. I’m in love with 2…I think Silver would be nice along with pink πŸ™‚

  5. DEFINITELY # 2! πŸ™‚

  6. DEFINITELY # 2! πŸ™‚

  7. I love the pink one, which is #2. So I guess it’s pretty much settled by now!

  8. I love the pink one, which is #2. So I guess it’s pretty much settled by now!

  9. 2 is my absolute fave, but I think 1 is super cute too!

  10. 2 is my absolute fave, but I think 1 is super cute too!

  11. Well, since you asked, I love number 4, especially the color. Number 3 is also nice!

  12. 1, 4 or 5 πŸ™‚

  13. Well, since you asked, I love number 4, especially the color. Number 3 is also nice!

  14. 1, 4 or 5 πŸ™‚

  15. I like dress 3. πŸ™‚

  16. I like dress 3. πŸ™‚

  17. I’m a fan of dress #2 – so pretty! and I love that color pink!

  18. I’m a fan of dress #2 – so pretty! and I love that color pink!

  19. remember moments

    I vote for #2 and #3 – both gorgeous!!

  20. remember moments

    I vote for #2 and #3 – both gorgeous!!

  21. I love dress 2!!!

  22. I love dress 2!!!

  23. For grad last year I totally dreamt of a pink dress much like the one in #2.

    Of course I ended up going with turquoise blue but still! I think grad dress should be fun, flirty and spring-like! (2,4,5)

  24. For grad last year I totally dreamt of a pink dress much like the one in #2.

    Of course I ended up going with turquoise blue but still! I think grad dress should be fun, flirty and spring-like! (2,4,5)

  25. I’m really diggin’ the first dress

  26. shopping for dresses is much more fun than writing papers. i like 4 or 5. let us know what you pick.

  27. I’m really diggin’ the first dress

  28. shopping for dresses is much more fun than writing papers. i like 4 or 5. let us know what you pick.

  29. I’d say 2 or 3! Shopping is so much fun, too bad being a student hinders that! Congrats on graduating!

  30. I’d say 2 or 3! Shopping is so much fun, too bad being a student hinders that! Congrats on graduating!

  31. My favorite is 4!

  32. My favorite is 4!

  33. I am graduating soon too and I haven’t picked anything yet. I am definitely going with dresses, but other than that I am undecided. Your choices are great though!

  34. I am graduating soon too and I haven’t picked anything yet. I am definitely going with dresses, but other than that I am undecided. Your choices are great though!

  35. I love #2 and #5! The colors are amazing and both are very beautiful!

  36. I love #2 and #5! The colors are amazing and both are very beautiful!

  37. #2 or #5. Love the cuts and colors! You will look great no matter what you wear

  38. #2 or #5. Love the cuts and colors! You will look great no matter what you wear

  39. i’m having the same problem, i’m graduating in 4 weeks and i’m trying to figure out what to wear! i like dress number 2 and 4, but really, i like them all! where did you find these by the way??

  40. i’m having the same problem, i’m graduating in 4 weeks and i’m trying to figure out what to wear! i like dress number 2 and 4, but really, i like them all! where did you find these by the way??

  41. I love #1… looks perfect for a graduation. #5 is a close second though!

  42. I love #1… looks perfect for a graduation. #5 is a close second though!

  43. Gwen B. (aka skinny bitch)

    It’s between dresses 1,2 and 3 for me. It depends on the look you are going for.

    If you want, “hey I am graduating and now I am a professional business WOMAN ready to take on the world” go with #1

    If you want, “hey I am graduating, but I still want to have fun and tonight is MY night and I am going all out!” go with # 2

    And if you want, “yeah I am graduating, but it is just another day and I just want to have a nice dinner with friends and a glass of wine to end the celebration” go with #3

    Hope my little dress analogies help!

  44. Gwen B. (aka skinny bitch)

    It’s between dresses 1,2 and 3 for me. It depends on the look you are going for.

    If you want, “hey I am graduating and now I am a professional business WOMAN ready to take on the world” go with #1

    If you want, “hey I am graduating, but I still want to have fun and tonight is MY night and I am going all out!” go with # 2

    And if you want, “yeah I am graduating, but it is just another day and I just want to have a nice dinner with friends and a glass of wine to end the celebration” go with #3

    Hope my little dress analogies help!

  45. I vote #2, with #2 in a close second!

  46. I vote #2, with #2 in a close second!

  47. I looove #2 and #5!! Super cute!

  48. I looove #2 and #5!! Super cute!

  49. I like 1 and 5 (I know, probably doesn’t help to add another conflicting opinion). All very cute!

  50. I like 1 and 5 (I know, probably doesn’t help to add another conflicting opinion). All very cute!

  51. alexa - cleveland's a plum

    #1 or #4 (in blue!)

  52. alexa - cleveland's a plum

    #1 or #4 (in blue!)

  53. alexa - cleveland's a plum

    #1 or #4 (in blue!)

  54. #2 or #3…leaning more towards 3!!

  55. #2 or #3…leaning more towards 3!!

  56. insomniaclolita

    get the first or second dress, really. 3 and 4 are too casual for such event:)

  57. insomniaclolita

    get the first or second dress, really. 3 and 4 are too casual for such event:)

  58. Erin [aka E.Wiggleβ„’]

    One or three are my picks. I’m always cold so I’d lean more towards three. The strapless one seems too casual. But they’re all cute! πŸ™‚

  59. Erin [aka E.Wiggleβ„’]

    One or three are my picks. I’m always cold so I’d lean more towards three. The strapless one seems too casual. But they’re all cute! πŸ™‚

  60. I love #2 and #5!

  61. I love #2 and #5!

  62. I loved dress #4! In that colour!

  63. I loved dress #4! In that colour!

  64. Dress #3 is hot.

  65. Dress #3 is hot.

  66. playintherain

    I like 2 and 5, but 5 the best. I’m not sure if 2 is too casual or not, i think I would have to see it in person. 5 is really cute, not too dressy, but not too casual and totally rewearable! Is it from JCrew? I think that is one that was a potential bridesmaid dress for my friend’s wedding

  67. playintherain

    I like 2 and 5, but 5 the best. I’m not sure if 2 is too casual or not, i think I would have to see it in person. 5 is really cute, not too dressy, but not too casual and totally rewearable! Is it from JCrew? I think that is one that was a potential bridesmaid dress for my friend’s wedding

  68. From the looks of all the comments, it looks like you’re probably going to go with dress number 2 for sure! Haha, but I’m going to be the outcast here and vote for dress number 1! I absolutely LOVE it!

  69. From the looks of all the comments, it looks like you’re probably going to go with dress number 2 for sure! Haha, but I’m going to be the outcast here and vote for dress number 1! I absolutely LOVE it!

  70. ChasingParadise

    I really love the look of #1. I think it’s sassy, yet sophisticated and it shows your grown-up side. In fact, I love it so much I want to buy it for myself! πŸ™‚

  71. ChasingParadise

    I really love the look of #1. I think it’s sassy, yet sophisticated and it shows your grown-up side. In fact, I love it so much I want to buy it for myself! πŸ™‚

  72. I like #2 and #4. Two is certainly the most ‘classic’ and I think it would be appropriate for lots of other events other than graduation. Weddings, summer parties, etc. You’ll look great in any of them though! You lucky petite girl! πŸ™‚

  73. I like #2 and #4. Two is certainly the most ‘classic’ and I think it would be appropriate for lots of other events other than graduation. Weddings, summer parties, etc. You’ll look great in any of them though! You lucky petite girl! πŸ™‚

  74. I love dresses #3 and #5 but I think I’m in the minority here! I wore a dress to my college graduation, it was probably black but I don’t remember. And I wore sensible heels because I was afraid I would trip when I walked on stage( I didn’t, but I also don’t remember anything about the diploma being handed to me either).

    Good luck picking them out!

  75. I love dresses #3 and #5 but I think I’m in the minority here! I wore a dress to my college graduation, it was probably black but I don’t remember. And I wore sensible heels because I was afraid I would trip when I walked on stage( I didn’t, but I also don’t remember anything about the diploma being handed to me either).

    Good luck picking them out!

  76. They are all really pretty! My vote would be in this order: #2, #4, #3, #1, #5. Hope this helps. I wore a black and green dress to my graduation which I’ve gotten a lot of use out of, but my one mistake was really high heels. Ouch!

  77. They are all really pretty! My vote would be in this order: #2, #4, #3, #1, #5. Hope this helps. I wore a black and green dress to my graduation which I’ve gotten a lot of use out of, but my one mistake was really high heels. Ouch!

  78. I love 2!!!! But number 4 is really cute too.

  79. I love 2!!!! But number 4 is really cute too.

  80. They’re all beautiful dresses, but I would go with 2! I think it’s the most appropriate for a graduation because it is both conservative (in style, length, and cut) and cute πŸ™‚ I own 4 and 5 but I wear them as casual everyday dresses during the spring and summer.

  81. They’re all beautiful dresses, but I would go with 2! I think it’s the most appropriate for a graduation because it is both conservative (in style, length, and cut) and cute πŸ™‚ I own 4 and 5 but I wear them as casual everyday dresses during the spring and summer.

  82. Well actually, I own LAST season’s version of #4 πŸ™‚ It looks exactly the same though!

  83. Well actually, I own LAST season’s version of #4 πŸ™‚ It looks exactly the same though!

  84. thatShortChick

    my vote is for either #2 or #5. i’m going through the same thing of looking at graduation dresses.

    i have been spending a lot of time at nordstrom.com

  85. thatShortChick

    my vote is for either #2 or #5. i’m going through the same thing of looking at graduation dresses.

    i have been spending a lot of time at nordstrom.com

  86. 2 and 5. definitely!!! congrats on the impending graduation!! i remember picking my dress out and it was so much fun!! :]

  87. 2 and 5. definitely!!! congrats on the impending graduation!! i remember picking my dress out and it was so much fun!! :]

  88. sarahbelledotcom

    #5, one hundred percent. i'm smiling just looking at it. it would look stunning on you, and the color POPS.

    ❀ oxo

    you are gorgeous – whichever dress you choose will be lucky to be seen on you =)

  89. sarahbelledotcom

    #5, one hundred percent. i'm smiling just looking at it. it would look stunning on you, and the color POPS.

    ❀ oxo

    you are gorgeous – whichever dress you choose will be lucky to be seen on you =)

  90. ooooh, the last one. definitely.

  91. ooooh, the last one. definitely.

  92. Dress #1!!! Too cute!!!

  93. BumbleBeeRunning

    I vote for 2 and 5! And I like the idea of 2 in silver πŸ™‚ It’s definitely never too early to start looking!

  94. Dress #1!!! Too cute!!!

  95. BumbleBeeRunning

    I vote for 2 and 5! And I like the idea of 2 in silver πŸ™‚ It’s definitely never too early to start looking!

  96. I’m lovin 1 and 3

  97. I’m lovin 1 and 3

  98. Classy in Philadelphia

    I love either 1 or 2! 1 just seems so classy to me!

  99. Classy in Philadelphia

    I love either 1 or 2! 1 just seems so classy to me!

  100. i love dress 4 in black. i think it’d look so chic. great picks all around though!

  101. i love dress 4 in black. i think it’d look so chic. great picks all around though!

  102. Joy @ Big Time Fancy

    I like 4 & 5. Hell, I OWN dress #5, but in this weird navy & white floral print. It's super comfy, and really lightweight, but I remember my graduation being cold as hell. So maybe check out the weather before you buy anything?

  103. Joy @ Big Time Fancy

    I like 4 & 5. Hell, I OWN dress #5, but in this weird navy & white floral print. It's super comfy, and really lightweight, but I remember my graduation being cold as hell. So maybe check out the weather before you buy anything?

  104. Samantha Rose

    Hi!! I’m Samantha, new to blogging and really enjoying your site! I personally love dresses 1 and 4…but I’d say go with what makes you feel the most comfortable.

    I’ve read a couple of your older posts and really like your blog. Don’t get bogged down in hurtful comments, this is YOUR domain and you have every right to choose what you listen to.

    If you’re interested, you can check out my blog at stuckintheplayground.blogspot.com. Looking forward to reading more from you!!

    Samantha

  105. Samantha Rose

    Hi!! I’m Samantha, new to blogging and really enjoying your site! I personally love dresses 1 and 4…but I’d say go with what makes you feel the most comfortable.

    I’ve read a couple of your older posts and really like your blog. Don’t get bogged down in hurtful comments, this is YOUR domain and you have every right to choose what you listen to.

    If you’re interested, you can check out my blog at stuckintheplayground.blogspot.com. Looking forward to reading more from you!!

    Samantha

  106. Omg, all those dresses are totally adorable! I like number 2 the best and then number 5 next after that!

  107. Omg, all those dresses are totally adorable! I like number 2 the best and then number 5 next after that!

  108. nicoleantoinette

    Oo, great options- you have such good taste!

    My favorites are 2 & 3, but I think 3 is more graduation appropriate.

  109. nicoleantoinette

    Oo, great options- you have such good taste!

    My favorites are 2 & 3, but I think 3 is more graduation appropriate.

  110. your wishcake.

    Perhaps this is delayed, but I’m in love with the last one. In that color. LOVE.

    πŸ™‚

    You will look lovely in whatever you choose!

  111. your wishcake.

    Perhaps this is delayed, but I’m in love with the last one. In that color. LOVE.

    πŸ™‚

    You will look lovely in whatever you choose!

  112. I personally think that #4 and #5 are so cute. the others are kinda… boring. no offense but, yeah. The 4 and 5 are super adorable I would go with 5 in white because it’s casual and yet cute. I would totally wear 5 in white. Its totally wierd because I was looking for my grad dress to and then I came upon your blog. I’m graduating from 8th grade on June 17th on a wednsday too. ( I think that is how you spell wendsday)

  113. I personally think that #4 and #5 are so cute. the others are kinda… boring. no offense but, yeah. The 4 and 5 are super adorable I would go with 5 in white because it’s casual and yet cute. I would totally wear 5 in white. Its totally wierd because I was looking for my grad dress to and then I came upon your blog. I’m graduating from 8th grade on June 17th on a wednsday too. ( I think that is how you spell wendsday)

  114. Meglovestombrady

    I don’t know if you have already choosen a dress but I really like #3 SUPER cute. Oh and I like #5 too it’s also super cute!!!

  115. Meglovestombrady

    I don’t know if you have already choosen a dress but I really like #3 SUPER cute. Oh and I like #5 too it’s also super cute!!!

  116. I like second dress!! It is so stylish and sweet!! Would like to add up this one in my collection!!

  117. I like second dress!! It is so stylish and sweet!! Would like to add up this one in my collection!!

Leave a Reply

