Tonight at 7:30

I have a date tonight. And the best part is that I did not meet him on a dating website. We met in real life! Just like people did in the old days!

Here’s the background info. Friday night my roomie and I got home from work/school, were exhausted, but decided we wanted to go out and enjoy New York since we are both leaving in a few months. We shared a bottle of wine as we got dressed up and fixed our hair and make up.

We decided to go to 230 Bar. If you’re ever in NYC and want a rooftop bar with a great view, this is the place.

So we’re at the bar, we ordered our drinks and sat down at a table. We were talking to each other for about 5 minutes when two cute guys walked over and started talking to us. They pulled up chairs and sat down.

The guy next to me asked what I do and I said that I’m in grad school. He replied, “Let me guess, you go to [insert name of my school] and you study Psychology”.

I was shocked. Within 30 seconds of talking to me this guy had guessed where I go to school and what I’m studying. Impressive.

We kept talking and playing the guessing game. By the end of our conversation he had guessed my name, my favorite movie, and my favorite band. He said he would try to guess my phone number so he could take me out sometime, but that would be almost impossible. So I just gave it to him.

What I know about him so far: His name is R, he’s 7 years older than me, works in finance, tall, super cute smile, younger brother and younger sister, from Pennsylvania, and plays guitar in a band.

At the end of the night he said he enjoyed talking to me and gave me a kiss goodbye on the cheek. I almost swooned.

I got a text from him the following afternoon saying it was nice to meet me and asking how the rest of my night went. I got another few texts on Monday asking me about my weekend and one more yesterday asking me when we were going to get together for a drink. I said we should meet up today.

So we’re meeting at a bar tonight at 7:30.

63 responses to “Tonight at 7:30

  1. How did he guess everything?!

    Have fun and be safe πŸ™‚

  2. “Just like people in the old days!”–That cracked me up! Haha. He sounds like a super nice guy, have a great date πŸ™‚

  3. How did he guess everything?!

    Have fun and be safe πŸ™‚

  4. “Just like people in the old days!”–That cracked me up! Haha. He sounds like a super nice guy, have a great date πŸ™‚

  5. Sounds amazing! I’m so excited for you and to hear how it turns out. have a great time.

    (my .02 cents: tall, handsome and old = the best three qualities a guy can have.)

  6. “He said he would try to guess my phone number so he could take me out sometime, but that would be almost impossible.”
    Smooth. Ha!

  7. Sounds amazing! I’m so excited for you and to hear how it turns out. have a great time.

    (my .02 cents: tall, handsome and old = the best three qualities a guy can have.)

  8. “He said he would try to guess my phone number so he could take me out sometime, but that would be almost impossible.”
    Smooth. Ha!

  9. YAY!!! How exciting! Good luck tonight!!!!

  10. YAY!!! How exciting! Good luck tonight!!!!

  11. To be honest, I would be a little worried that a guy I have never met before knows my name, school and major.

    Good luck on your date tonight.
    ( :

  12. WOw!! That sounds soo exctiting!

    good luck!

  13. To be honest, I would be a little worried that a guy I have never met before knows my name, school and major.

    Good luck on your date tonight.
    ( :

  14. WOw!! That sounds soo exctiting!

    good luck!

  15. YAY YAY YAY Have so much fun!!! I can’t wait to hear about it!! (You’ll obvi share, right?!)

    Haha I love how you say “Just like people did in the old days.” Sooo true!

  16. YAY YAY YAY Have so much fun!!! I can’t wait to hear about it!! (You’ll obvi share, right?!)

    Haha I love how you say “Just like people did in the old days.” Sooo true!

  17. wow – sounds awesome! good luck! πŸ™‚

  18. wow – sounds awesome! good luck! πŸ™‚

  19. Hmm…K and I have a friend who meets all of your descriptions above and last night over dinner he was telling us about the new girl he met last weekend who is also named Ashley πŸ™‚ What are the chances that this is the same person?!

    If it is, he’s a great guy!

  20. Hmm…K and I have a friend who meets all of your descriptions above and last night over dinner he was telling us about the new girl he met last weekend who is also named Ashley πŸ™‚ What are the chances that this is the same person?!

    If it is, he’s a great guy!

  21. Sounds fantastic! Have a great time Ashley.

  22. Sounds fantastic! Have a great time Ashley.

  23. Jen - The Secret Keeper

    Wow, dating the old school way – you begin to forget this is possible!! Good luck! x

  24. Jen - The Secret Keeper

    Wow, dating the old school way – you begin to forget this is possible!! Good luck! x

  25. Hmm. Maybe you’ll find a reason to stay in the Big Apple.

  26. Hmm. Maybe you’ll find a reason to stay in the Big Apple.

  27. calixta.jive.

    yay! i am so excited for you!!!

  28. calixta.jive.

    yay! i am so excited for you!!!

  29. Congrats to graduating soon. I will be as well. Ready to be done with grad school. Hope things go well for you on your date tonight.

  30. Congrats to graduating soon. I will be as well. Ready to be done with grad school. Hope things go well for you on your date tonight.

  31. congrats again

  32. congrats again

  33. ooh how fun. good luck love!! :]

  34. ooh how fun. good luck love!! :]

  35. He HAS to be a school lurker to know things like that!

    But have a good time anyway :o)

  36. He HAS to be a school lurker to know things like that!

    But have a good time anyway :o)

  37. reederscorner

    Wow that’s awesome! He sounds great and I like that he made getting to know one another a guessing game… it’s very clever!

  38. reederscorner

    Wow that’s awesome! He sounds great and I like that he made getting to know one another a guessing game… it’s very clever!

  39. okay that is super cute! have fun!

  40. okay that is super cute! have fun!

  41. Yay! What a cute way to meet, hope you have fun on the date!!

  42. Yay! What a cute way to meet, hope you have fun on the date!!

  43. insomniaclolita

    Is he a mind reader? Sounds very sweet though. Have fun πŸ™‚

  44. insomniaclolita

    Is he a mind reader? Sounds very sweet though. Have fun πŸ™‚

  45. nicoleantoinette

    Ha, “just like in the old days!”

    But seriously, how did he pull off all that guessing? Am I paranoid to be freaked out by that, haha?

    Good luck!!

  46. nicoleantoinette

    Ha, “just like in the old days!”

    But seriously, how did he pull off all that guessing? Am I paranoid to be freaked out by that, haha?

    Good luck!!

  47. i hope you had a good time πŸ™‚

  48. i hope you had a good time πŸ™‚

  49. Wow! He seems really sweet! Can’t wait to hear how it all went! πŸ™‚

  50. Wow! He seems really sweet! Can’t wait to hear how it all went! πŸ™‚

  51. Sounds exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  52. Sounds exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  53. Aw, how cute! I miss dating… sometimes. lol

  54. Aw, how cute! I miss dating… sometimes. lol

  55. Wickedly Scarlett

    Oooh, hope it was fun!!

  56. Wickedly Scarlett

    Oooh, hope it was fun!!

  57. Joy @ Big Time Fancy

    Okay, it’s tomorrow now. Tell us about the daaaaaaaaate. πŸ™‚

  58. Joy @ Big Time Fancy

    Okay, it’s tomorrow now. Tell us about the daaaaaaaaate. πŸ™‚

  59. A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!

  60. A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!

  61. what a fun little flirty exchange!

  62. what a fun little flirty exchange!

  63. Sounds like a good first meeting! Hopefully you felt at ease with him. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

