Spring Cleaning

It’s officially spring here in New York. Actually the past few days have felt more like summer since we’ve been graced with 90 degree temperatures, but it’s spring. And you know what that means?

It’s time for spring cleaning.

I’m not talking about the “mop your floors and clean out your closet” type of spring cleaning. I’m referring to the blogging spring cleaning.

You know, I’ve really missed blogging lately. I’ll sit in my room or here at my desk at work and think about blogging. I imagine posts I could write or even new blogs that I might discover and read. I miss it. But then when I sit down to actually write something, I’m empty. There is nothing to share, nothing to write. And when I open my google reader, it’s the same thing. I have little desire to read the new posts so I end up marking all as read. And then I feel guilty, like I am doing my blog friends a dis-service. I hate it.

So I’m thinking maybe it’s time for a little readjustment. Maybe I need to clean out my google reader for real. Every so often I go through it and delete the blogs that aren’t updated or the ones I’ve added to my “New Blogs” folder that I don’t enjoy reading. But I’m thinking I really need a full out spring cleaning. I need to go through and delete. I need to size-down. I need to minimize.

That’s my plan for today. I’m going to do some blogging spring cleaning. I’m hoping this will re-energize me and make me excited about blogging again. I love it and I don’t plan on leaving this blog world anytime soon…

I just need to find my passion again.

24 responses to “Spring Cleaning

  1. Used to be Julybug

    Sadly Julybug is no more so feel free to remove.

  2. Sounds like a plan. But don’t go removing mine, because that will make me sad.

  3. I actually updated my Google Reader yesterday. My blogroll is in desperate need of updating, which as you know is a huge task.

    A tip for you: When you get an idea, immediately write it down. It helps if you’re organized and have a notebook to keep it all in. I’m not so much organized, so I’ll jot things down on little slips of paper. Then, I find them when I’m doing laundry.

    Don’t worry, your passion is still there.

  4. I totally get this. I haven’t had any inspiration for blogging lately. Not sure why…? But your words echo my feelings. I completely understand if you nix my blog (if you haven’t already) since I haven’t really been writing lately…
    Oh! Have you decided b/w NY and Austin yet?

  5. Spring cleaning in all aspects of our lives is essential. Hope you find the blog passion you’re looking for!

  6. I need to clean out/organize my google reader as well. Its such a daunting task.

    I write when the mood strikes. If it doesn’t then I don’t write. If I have an idea while I’m in the middle of something for a post, I jot it down in my planner.

  7. ChasingParadise

    We could all use a little spring cleaning, both house-wise and blog-wise! Good luck with yours. 🙂

  8. I’ve been thinking along these lines lately – but I think I’m going to save in until I’m in the deepest darkest caves of a “blog funk”!! I might even post about it once it’s done haha!

    hope you feel better about blogging after cleaning up your reader! xx

  9. I DEFINITELY need to do this and focus in on the ones I actually do read all the time and not feel guilty about the “new blog” folder that goes untouched… If I find a new blog I really like and know I’ll keep reading, it just skips that folder anyway.

    happy cleaning!

  10. I know what you mean. I haven’t been reading and commenting as much as I used to and I definitely haven’t been updating much. I hope the spring cleaning helps!

  11. I agree, and I’m thinking about doing some spring cleaning myself.

  12. I’ve been avoiding this task like the plague. Props to you for motivating yourself to do it! I hope it sparks your passion 🙂

  13. i always do this so often and it feels great!

  14. i’ve been in a sort of blog rut since my blog got found out by an ex and i had to delete everything and start a new blog. so now am having to find my blog mojo again and i keep questioning all my blog posts ideas and b4 i got found i didn’t care bt am getting there.

    i blog spring cleaned last week and now i enjoy the current blogs tht come into my reader eg yours so you do wot u hve to do to get your mojo back and enjoy the blogosphere once again!!

  15. Michelle and the City

    i did that when i came back to blogging to. sort of felt like starting over. still does in a way.

  16. insomniaclolita

    I think you don’t even follow mine to begin with 😦

    But well I’m happy to read you because you’re a great blogger. 😀

  17. I hear ya on losing the passion. My blog has been sorely lacking in updates the past few weeks because I got off a routine, and then I lost my voice.

    I’m the same as you, I’ll think of something at work, heck I’ll even write it down to come back to it later, and then I either don’t get the time or do come back to it and can’t form a full post.

    So here I sit, full of half-formed thoughts, waiting for the rest to come.

  18. i just cleaned out my reader last week. it feels so good to know that every time i open it up now, i’m not going to be faced with 50 or 60 posts that i don’t really want to read.

    i think i’ve narrowed mine down to my top 40 or so. i feel like i can be more productive now, haha.

  19. I just announced on my blog that I was officially changing my blog topic from just diabetes to everything in my life, including diabetes. It was something I was sort of doing on and off, but I had never officially said, “Hey! This is what I’m doing whether you like it or not.” Having the freedom to write whatever I want is very… freeing. I’m also seeing that even on posts that I thought would get no comments are still getting comments. I would love to hear more about things your knowledgeable on, like therapy and that kind of thing. Or maybe more childhood experiences or your opinions on things. Your boy stories are great, but I know there’s more to you than that! Maybe you can also talk about things that you like in NYC, like restaurants and bars and stuff. Just some stuff I’ve been thinking about writing about.

    Good luck!
    Cheers,
    Allison

  20. Somewhere In Between

    Good luck with the Spring Cleaning! I need to update my Google Reader before my head explodes from looking at all the unread posts!

  21. Wearing Mascara

    This is a good idea… not only with blogs but with email too. Or just digital life in general! Hang in there and I’m sure you’ll find the passion again soon (I’ve been struggling myself too).

    xoxo

  22. I go through this a lot. I’ll open Blogger and stare at the blinking cursor for a few minutes before clicking back to actual WORK on the screen.

    Then it somehow gets to the end of the day and I don’t have time to squeeze out a blog post. I never want to open my computer when I get back home either.

    After about a week of this I clean out google-reader and somehow find time to squeeze in blog posts again

  23. I hear ya… Last time I looked I had over 100 blogs on Google Reader… Yikes! I honestly enjoy most of them, but just wish I had more time! If only I didn’t like sleep so much…

  24. your wishcake.

    I went through the whole blog-cleaning thing several months ago.

    I was starting to feel such incredible pressure to read everyone’s blogs and comment on every single post – even the ones that didn’t really send me – just because I have so many great readers who are such great commenters. But, then I realized that it was taking up so much time and all I was doing was feeling obligated. I even had to get rid of my google reader because it seriously gave me hives. (Well, okay, not really…but you know what I mean. Heehee. I was definitely marking all as read on a weekly basis!)

    I realized that I needed to go at my own pace, and that anyone who got mad at me for not reading or commenting on their blog needed to understand that although I do appreciate them (and probably do check up on their blog!), there are other priorities that may take the place of being online all day.

    We do what we can, when we can, and it should always come from the heart anyway! Blogging (or reading blogs) should never feel like a chore, and if it ever does, then that’s the time to definitely reevaluate the situation!

    Best of luck, my dear. I’m sure you’ll figure it out!

Leave a Reply

