I made it

I am officially done with graduate school. I have no more papers to write, no more tests to take, and no more classes to attend.

I am finished.

I almost got emotional during my last class last night as we were processing the termination. As counselors we process everything. How do you feel about that? What would you say to your client if they were terminating in therapy? How would you feel about that if someone told you the same advice? How will you keep growing even after you finish this class? What are you feeling right now?

I felt happy and sad. I was so glad to finally be finished and not have to stress about the work anymore. I was happy that I had made it through. I was proud of myself. But I was also sad. I spoke about how I wished we had more time because I was just beginning to feel it click. I felt like I was finally beginning to figure it all out and now that we had to stop, it made me sad. I also said that I thought it was a good thing to be sad because that means I will miss it and that means it was worth it.

It was so encouraging to hear the professor and TAs speak about their experience of the class. They said they could see how much we’ve changed over the semester and how fulfilling that is for them. They said they were proud of us and know that we worked hard. I had to hold the tears back as they were speaking. It was a lot to take in knowing that this was our last class together, but also, there was a parallel process because this was my last class, forever. Everything they were saying also applies to entire career as a student so it was a little hard to not become overwhelmed with emotions.

We got our grades last night at the end of class. I got a B. I wasn’t surprised at all considering that talk I had with the professor and TAs a few weeks back, but honestly, I was still angry. I worked so hard in this class. I cried, I fought, I collapsed in tears. I put my whole self into it. And all I got was a B? It doesn’t seem fair. But it’s done.

I passed and I’m happy about that.

I’m also really happy that graduation is in exactly one week. Woo!

I made it. πŸ™‚

51 responses to “I made it

  1. remember moments

    Congratulations. I wish I was done, but I still have 3 more semesters to go. Ugh!

  2. Allison Blass

    Congrats! This is huge. πŸ™‚ Enjoy your time off b/w now and when you start your first job. Best days of my life, I swear…

  3. The Paraplegic Chef

    Congrats!!! I bet you feel like the Titanic has been lifted off your shoulders!

  4. caterpillar85

    Congrats! Isn't it a wonderful feeling! Graduating from graduate school is a huge accomplishment & something to be proud of! I too have mixed emotions as I just graduated with my masters this past Friday..although I'm so excited to be *done* and have a real job, I'm also sad and am going to miss the comfort of school. best of luck!

  5. Congratulations! I am so happy for you Ashely (insert all the letters behind your name here). Its a huge accomplishment and you should be incredibly proud of yourself. =)

  6. Little Miss Obsessive

    CONGRATS!!!! You should be very proud of youself! πŸ™‚

  7. I hate to be repetitive, but…

    Congratulations!!

  8. reinventingamy

    Congrats!!!! What a huge accomplishment!

  9. Children of the Nineties

    Congratulations on being done! That’s so great πŸ™‚

  10. calixta.jive.

    yay! i’m so excited for you… congratulations!!!

  11. The New Black

    Good for you! I am SO jealous…wish I was done with school! πŸ™‚

  12. thatShortChick

    completing grad school is a MAJOR accomplishment, so CONGRATS!!!

  13. Congratulations! That is a wonderful accomplishment. xo

  14. CONGRATULATIONS, hon!!! you should be super proud of yourself for accomplishing so much at such a young age!! that’s awesome!!

  15. Congrats!!! You should very proud of yourself!!

  16. Congratulations!! What an exciting time. Best wishes for all major future decisions – life starts now!!!!

  17. Yay! Congratulations!!
    I liked your point that its a good thing to be sad, because that means you’ll miss it and be sad. Never thought about it that way, but so true!

  18. CONGRATS! I wish you all the best in the future chica!

  19. Wearing Mascara

    Congrats! πŸ™‚

  20. Congratulations!! Time to go get drunk!!

    http://fab.typepad.com/brunette

  21. Congrats!!!! There is always mixed emotions when things come to a close. Enjoy everything about it though!!!

  22. Huge congratulations!! πŸ™‚

  23. WELL DONE!! Must be a great feeling to know that’s over now x

  24. woo!!! way to go lady! time to party!!

  25. Congrats! I hate that things always seem to click just when they’re ending. I feel like that always happens to me, because it takes me so long to become comfortable around people, but it probably happens to everyone.

  26. B is still good, don’t let it get you down. The more important thing is you’re free and you’re graduated. YAY!:)

  27. Congratulations, finishing graduate school is quite an accomplishment! You should be SO proud of yourself!!

  28. congratulations! i’m so happy for you. you’ve worked hard for this!

  29. Wow, I know the feeling! I just finished law school. It was a happy/sad feeling! Unfortunately, I don’t find out my grades until next week and possibly even the day before I graduate!

    Congratulations to you πŸ™‚

  30. congratulations, that is so exciting! woo!

  31. secretlysupergirl

    Hooray for you!!

    It’s interesting that you spoke about how it was ending but you felt it was just starting to click.

    When I spoke went to a counselor a few years ago, I felt the same way when I ended it. But I also felt I didn’t need her anymore and that I was ready to give it a try on my own.

    Maybe it’s a sign that the end is really the beginning or some similar cliche…

  32. Congrats Ashley! That’s amazing and wonderful after so much hard work.

    I felt pretty bittersweet after finishing my first degree and I’m sure more-so after I finish my second just because I don’t know if I’ll be going back or not.

  33. Shannon Patterson

    WHOO!

  34. Congrats!

  35. Classy in Philadelphia

    Congrats! You so deserve it.

  36. What an accomplishment – yay for you!

  37. Congrats! Next Saturday I am walking across the stage for my undergrad. Graduation is so exciting! I just wanted to let you know that I left you an award on my blog!

  38. This makes all of those “OMG! I hate Grad School!” moments all seem worth it.

    Proud of you!

  39. Congrats to you! Grad school is a great accomplishment :o)

    Why exactly does your mom hate C so much anyway? Has she always, or did she just start after you guys broke up? That ultimatum was pretty harsh… I hope it doesn’t spoil what should be such an awesome time in your life.

  40. I felt that way about a sculpture class one year. It took me ages to get over how it screwed up my GPA. I’m impressed and envious that you can brush it off and move on so quickly! So much healthier.

  41. Congratulations!! That is so awesome! πŸ™‚

  42. huge congratluations for you!

    i always cry when something i’ve enjoyed (yet also despised) comes to an end.

    Enjoy all the lovely moments in between now and graduation. you most definitely deserve it!

  43. Congratulations! Finishing grad school was one of my happiest and feel-good moments. Enjoy your graduation day and celebrations!

  44. Congratulations! Can’t wait to feel that way myself.

  45. Congrats Ashley!

  46. I have given you an award! Check out my blog! πŸ™‚

  47. congratulations!

  48. I’m still rebuilding my google reader from my time offline over the past couple months, but I’m so glad I re-found you again and just in time to say….

    CONGRATULATIONS!! =)

  49. sarah marie p

    Congrats! That’s so awesome! YAYYYYY!!!!

  50. Congrats Ashley! I’m so proud of you and can’t wait to read about what’s next for you!

  51. Pingback: 2009 In Review «

Leave a Reply

