iPhone advice

I received many cards congratulating me and several generous gifts for my graduation. My roommate’s parents gave me picture frame with”2009″ along the bottom. Another friend gave me a candle. Other family friends gave me cards stuffed with checks written out in various amounts to “Ashley D”.

Each gift means something special to me and I could not thank the giver enough. It really made me realize how blessed I am to have such supportive and generous people in my life. They are amazing.

But you want to know my favorite (superficial) gift?

My aunt wants to buy me an iPhone. A few months ago I casually mentioned (on a facebook status update) and I wanted an iPhone for graduation. I few days later I got a message in my inbox from her saying she would buy me one if I still wanted it. If I still wanted it? Of course I did! So I wrote her back explaining that I would have to wait to make sure that I would be able to pay the bill each month since I’m currently on my mom’s family plan and pay a grand total of $0.00 each month for my phone.

I thought and thought and thought. Was it worth it? I still don’t have a job or any steady income. I did, however, receive several large checks for graduation. I decided I wanted to iPhone too badly. I wrote my aunt again yesterday saying I would love to accept her offer… and if I don’t get a job soon I can use my graduation money to pay the bill for a month or two. I can make it work.

I’m getting an iPhone!!!

So I’m going to the apple store today to pick out exactly what I want. I’m thinking the 8GB is fine, right? I don’t need that much… which would mean it comes in black. As far as the plan goes, I’m currently on sprint, so I’ll have to switch to ATT. I’m thinking the 450 minutes and Unlimited text plan. I’ll be text messaging way more than I’m talking, right?

This is the first time I’ve bought a phone plan by myself, so any advice or tips would be really appreciated. I’m sure tons of you have bought your own iPhone. What was the experience like for you? Are there any loopholes I should know about? Any tricks they will try to pull on me? What type of shell/case should I get? Help!

24 responses to “iPhone advice

  1. I was entertaining the idea of getting an iphone several months ago — but ended up not getting one. One piece of advice I recieved over and over was to go to the Apple store as opposed to ATT to get one.

    Its very exciting! Have fun and good luck!

  2. Congrats & welcome to the iPhone club! If you have any questions about apps, don't hesitate to ask! I review them for Guidespot and even have a few guides with my favorites and the not-so-awesome ones.

    I highly recommend getting the screen protectors. I lost mine and my screen is getting super smudged. It's gross. I have to keep cleaning it and it's annoying.

  3. I have one…but my advice will be useless because UK contracts differ massively from US ones – as in I didn’t have to pay a penny for my phone (which is the case with most “contract” phones here), I think I get 1000 txts and 300mins a month for about $45…plus my internet is super cheap and considering I use it for at least 15 mins of every hour I’m awake it my entire bill only costs about $55 a month!

    I can definitely advise on good apps for it though!! There are thousands of them! I love them all!! x

  4. I don’t have an iphone 😦 I’m on T-mobile but since its my only phone I have mobile to mobile, 1000 texts and 1000 minutes plus free nights and weekends. I obviously talk a lot but I never worry about overages.

  5. cuteellaisbold

    I’m not sure, but I think you also have to have the data plan. I know I do for my phone and it’s the BlackJack II. (iPhone was still having problems when I got this one and I’ll be upgrading this summer to another Blackberry like device.)

    And I’ve always had more luck at the ATT corporate stores (not the ones just licensed to sell ATT products.)

    Good luck!

  6. make sure you get the “sit or squat” app. it tells you the location of public restrooms near you, and people can rate how nice/clean they are. HANDY!

  7. Congrats on jumping on the iPhone bandwagon! I would wait until June 6th to get one because that's when the new update comes out and it will load at the store when you purchase it.

    As for what plan to get, this is what I suggest: At&t has "rollover" minutes, so any unused minutes from the previous month you still get to keep. This is why I got the 450 minute plan. I got unlimited text (trust me, it's worth it) and unlimited data. My bill runs around $97/month. Any other questions, feel free to ask! Have fun!!

  8. I am sooooo jealous! I want an iphone so freaking bad! I have AT&T right now and I never ever use 450 minutes, plus they roll over so you should be fine with that plan. I have unlimited texting too and I'm addicted. Hopefully for my graduation I will get an equally lovely present. Your aunt is so generous! Congrats on making it to graduation. I have 2.5 weeks left and I'm getting antsy.

  9. Have fun!! My favourite case for my iPhone is a hard plastic one – that way when I toss it around it doesn’t get hurt. You’ll adore it. This is my first smart phone and having the internet wherever I go is now a must.

  10. Holly Golightly

    Hi there! Welcome to the iPhone club! The way the plans work now is that the data comes with the plan, and I definitely recommend the 450 minute plan. It’s the least expensive, but I also think it’s totally doable. I don’t have a land line and I’m in a long distance relationship, and I still never go over. You should know that there is no such thing as free nights and weekends on the iPhone, though. You get a ton more minutes, but it’s not unlimited.

    As for texts, I am a texting fiend. I started off with the unlimited and quickly found out I wasn’t going over the 1500 limit so I switched my plan. Just track your usage the first two months, and you’ll be able to tell if you can downgrade.

    Hope that helps!

  11. Wearing Mascara

    Hey girl!!

    Congrats on the iPhone! You will LOVE it! It’s utterly convenient! I used to work for Apple and let me tell ya… the iPhone is very durable. I know many people who don’t have a case and they are fine. My favorite game is pacman.. it’s very fun on the iPhone.

    Good luck! 🙂

    xoxo

  12. I’m jealous!!! I bought one 4 weeks ago and returned it 10 days later. It was difficult doing that but I felt guilty having it because I have a phone already that my mom’s paying so it’s basically free. I’m going to be patience and wait until my phone dies.

    Have fun with yours!

  13. I don't have an iPhone (I'm on Verizon, and with unlimited texts to anyone in any network, unlimited minutes for Verizon-to-Verizon, and 2500 shared minutes [with family] to non-Verizon users, for only $40/month, I can't get rid of it. Plus, AT&T isn't in my area.)

    I do, however, have a 16gb iPod touch, and I love it! Of course, you can only get internet where there is wifi (since it's not on the AT&T network) but it's still handy. If you want internet EVERYWHERE, though, get the iPhone. Personally, I'd go for the 16gb, though… It's worth the extra money, in my opinion.

  14. Also, definitely get a screen protector… and I use a gel-type case, and it actually works great! It doesn’t crack if you drop it. 🙂

  15. Samantha Rose

    I know the feeling– I’m still stuck with a flip-phone…the kind everyone had for their first phone in middle or high school. Congrats on the upgrade– I should join the party soon!

  16. Unless you plan on downloading a lot of videos, music or photos, an 8GB will be plenty. That’s what I’ve had.

    I’m also on the 450 minutes, but I think I only do 200 texts (I never text. Or talk to anyone. Basically, I only have a phone in the event I’m lost or late or in the process of being murdered). And I have the data plan. My total bill every month is about $75. It’s spendy, so make sure you definitely set aside the money NOW, not later.

    But it’s great and there’s a ton of apps. I love the subway one, because I can use it while I’m in the subway to figure out where I need to get off if I can’t get to a map. Which happens surprisingly often.

  17. I am in love with my iPhone… I didn’t really want it, but now I don’t think I could live without it (well I could, but I really, really wouldn’t want to!).

    Woo-hoo! And I don’t think I ever properly said congrats on your graduation!

  18. Congrats on the iPhone! I thought about getting one but I love my BB Curve too much to switch.

    As for the rate plan, really think about how much you talk/text. I was on T-Mobile with the My Faves, etc. and my bill was small. I recently switched to AT&T and I found out the hard way that 450 mins doesn't last very long. There have been a couple bills that made me want to smash my head into the wall. I now have the 900 mins one.

    Also, there will be a $30 data fee per month…make sure you budget correctly. 🙂

  19. Don’t forget unlimited Data!

    P.S. Sprint is coming out with the Palm Pre June 6th which is part Iphone part Blackberry Touch screen and full keyboard!

    I am a hardcore mac lover but I couldn’t switch to the iphone. I am waiting for the Palm Pre.

  20. A work friend told me that the iPhone would change my life. I thought she was being incredibly melodramatic, but I am here to say, it will CHANGE. YOUR. LIFE. I could write sonnets and songs to my iPhone. It’s kinda sick.

    I love my soft Belkin brand case. For me the case was more about making it less dropable than better protected if it drops. However, the stickier soft cases are like velcro for my hair, so I sport a ponytail if I’m going to be doing any serious chatting.

  21. I don’t have an iPhone, but I did recently get a blackberry and it caused my monthly bill to go up about $20 a month but it was SO SO worth it. I just LOVE it!! And I’ve heard the iPhone is even better so I say go for it 🙂

  22. SO exciting!!! I recommend a case, like BS said more about making it tougher to drop than actually protecting it.

    Unlimited text for me is crucial = their sliding scale options are crap, if you asked me, so the $20 for the unlimited is worth it.

    It’s pretty much life-changing. I’m not kidding. Have fun!

  23. aw congrats again and yay to the iphone! i keep considering getting one too and i just can’t bring myself to do it just yet. but ah! hope you love it.

  24. Did you already take the plunge??

    The only piece of advice I have is to remember that it’s the monthly bill that’s expensive. I have the cheapest plan possible and it’s still no less than $90 a month including fees.

Leave a Reply

