I’m a planner

Before I get started on my rant for today, I must take a minute to thank miss Ashley at This? Is Not the Life I Ordered for my gorgeous new header. She did an amazing job and I love her immensely for it! I love the twirly font and the colors and the design. It’s so beautiful! Thanks, Ashley!

If I’ve learned one thing about myself during these past two months it’s that I’m a planner. I hate not knowing. When I graduated in May I thought I would take a few weeks, but I was sure I’d find a job relatively easy. That obviously hasn’t happened. It’s been discouraging, but I understand the job market is horrible right now and I’m trying not to take it personally. I took a few months to job hunt without a real plan. I wasn’t sure if I’d be staying in New York or moving to Texas, or even somewhere new. The time of transition and so many unknowns stressed me out incredibly.

For about the past week I’ve slowly been leaning toward the idea of moving home… and it didn’t sound as unappealing.

Yesterday I booked my one-way plane ticket to Austin. I’m leaving on July 15th. That’s exactly two weeks from today. When I clicked that “Purchase” button it was like a weight was lifted off my shoulders. I now have a plan. I have something tangible to work toward.

Last night I gathered three old boxes and filled them with books and shoes. I also filled four trash bags with clothes I am giving away. I’m hoping I will only have to ship about 5-7 boxes and when I get on that plane in two weeks I will have 3 suitcases with me.  That means I have some major down-sizing to do.

It’s still stressful, but I am so happy to actually have a plan and a set date and something (packing) to occupy my time.

Hi, I’m Ashley and I’m a planner.

18 responses to “I’m a planner

  1. ReinventingAmy

    I’m totally a planner as well. I recently went on vacation and was mentally freaking out over needing to have all travel plans (plane/shuttles/cab) figured out and my friend was more of- oh lets just hop on the plane and go and we’ll figure it out when we get there. um.. no.

    Yay for your new blog home! Cute!

  2. Stop reminding me that I’m such a slacker and haven’t packed at all and am leaving at the same time! (sort of, i’m vacating my apartment at that point as least!) Do you want to plan out my life too? 🙂

    I can’t believe how fast everything is happening but it will mean great things for you 🙂 Good luck and we have to get together before you leave!

  3. I’m definitely a planner, much to the chagrin of my anxiety levels.

    this whole sucky job market/life after graduation is not exactly what I pictured either but I’m learning (slowly) to just roll with it and see where things lead.

    good luck on your move!

  4. The header looks gorgeous!

    I’m a planner too, I HATE not knowing what is going to happen!!

  5. I just moved to a brand new place three weeks ago… and it is the PLAN that made the jump easier. Terrifying? Absolutely. But, also, completely doable. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear about your new chapter.

  6. I feel ya. It’s so good to have a decision made a plan forged. Good luck with the downsizing. It can be equally freeing to purge stuff, (I’m going through a bit of the same thing now as I move to a new apartment) so enjoy it!

  7. I’m the same way. And I think your plan sounds fantastic. I’m so excited to read along!

  8. Beautiful new header! I can’t imagine moving everything I own across the country! Good luck!

  9. i love the new header it’s gorgeous. i like to have things planned too but i’ve noticed lately i’m ok if it’s not. i maybe becoming more flexible!

  10. You should have a garage sale.

    I’m with you — definitely a planner too. It eats me up if I don’t know what the future holds for me (1-2 year span).

  11. I’m a planner too and know exactly how you feel. Good luck downsizing, I know how much stuff one seems to gather over time without realizing it. I guess you can at least ditch some of your warmer clothes??

  12. Ugh, I feel your pain. Not only am I a planner too I’m moving on the 24th to a new apt after being at this one for 3 years. This mean, I’ve accumulated A LOT of stuff.

    To-do lists, check boxes and lists are just the start of what I’ll be doing planning-wise. I just hope I get it done in the right timeframe.

    P.S. The new header is beautiful.

  13. Great! I’m glad you are have a plan now and feel more comfortable. I’m a planner too, and can’t stand going back and forth or not knowing…

  14. I, too, am a planner. I can only imagine your relief in having a plan. Good luck with the downsizing!

  15. That´s why I hate surprises… because I can´t stand not knowing what is going to happen.

    This decision must have been hard for you, but maybe your life is meant to be somewhere else, sometimes the answers just fall from the sky when you least expect it, so I hope that soon you´ll find the key to know “what’s next”. Oh and I love the blog header!

  16. The new blog is great! I hope everything goes well in Texas — I’ll be facing the same decisions when I graduate in a year… Can I procrastinate that?? Haha

  17. I’m a planner too. It just gives me peace of mind to know I have a direction. Good luck downsizing.

  18. Lava Rocks/Il Mare

    Girl, I’m a planner too.

    I quit my job 6 months ago to move to SF and be all eco… but no dice.

    After 3 months of holy-crap-what-am-I-doing-with-my-life?? I bought a GRE book with the PLAN of applying to grad school in the fall.

    Idk if its right, but time will tell and at least now, I have a plan (and can stop the never ending anxiety attack).

    Hi, I’m LR/IM, and I too, am a planner.

Leave a Reply

