Feels Like Home

I’ve lived in three apartments since I moved to New York City almost two years ago. The first, I only stayed in for two months. Then I moved closer to school to a much nicer apartment. However, my roommate turned out to be a little insane (literally) and almost impossible to live with. I stuck it out for seven months and then moved in with a friend, which is where I live now. I have been here since last May, so for over a year.

This is the only apartment that has felt like home to me in New York. Sure, it’s run down, my room is tiny, and the neighbors are horribly annoying… but it’s home. I’ve made some unforgettable memories here. I gone through many life changing events here. I’ve grown more comfortably into myself here.

As my moving date is getting closer and closer (2 days!) I’m beginning to realize how much I’m going to miss New York. I want to enjoy as much as I can before I leave. So when my roommate asked if I wanted to walk around outside with her yesterday, I made myself go despite not really being in the mood.

As we wandered around our neighborhood we remarked how we should have done this more often, how beautiful it really is, and how we missed so much by defaulting to Central Park every free weekend. Of course, there is nothing wrong with Central Park at all (I love it!), but I seem to have missed some of the beauty right around the corner.

park

We stopped at the entrance of Riverside Park to take a few pictures before continuing on.

rosegarden

Our ultimate destination was the Hudson River. We found a bench along the water where we sat and enjoyed our Chocolate frozen yogurt and Peach Tea Snapple.

hudson

We laughed, shared stories, and reminded each other not to get too sad about our upcoming separation (leaving friends is super sad!) It was an amazing afternoon. It seems that no matter how many negative feelings I have towards New York, and no matter how ready I am to leave and start another adventure, a day like this will always change my mind.

I guess that’s what happens when a place feels like home.

19 responses to “Feels Like Home

  1. two days! bittersweet, huh? NYC is beautiful, but austin is on my must visit list. i think i need to get on this. 🙂

  2. Definitely. So pretty!

    And now that song “Feels Like Home” is totally stuck in my head – ha!

  3. So lovely… but I know your new home will feel like home too! And you can always go back and visit NYC.

  4. I’m glad you’re getting to enjoy a few last sights before you leave. Good luck with the move as well!

  5. How nice! It’s been about two years for me too, and where I am now feels like home as well. You’re next place in Texas will be ten times better though!

  6. I’ve never spent much time in NYC–it was maybe a 6 hour whirlwind tour in the midst of a trip to Philly a few years ago. I’m going to have to go one of these days, and you can tell me everything to check out!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your last few days there. Do me a favor? Bring down some of the cooler weather. We sure could use it around here!

  7. I am glad that you are experiencing a few things before you leave. Im glad that you found a place that feels like home, I hope you find a similar place in Texas. Good luck with everything that will be happening in the next few days.

  8. You’ve gotten to experience NYC in way many wish they could. I think it’s so cool that you could call NYC “home” as long you have.

    Hopefully, Texas will prove to be as great to you as New York has been.

  9. Aww I can’t believe it’s time to move! What an adventure. you’ll always have those great memories of NYC but the best is yet to come!

  10. Wait till you go back as a visitor to NY after having lived there. I love that feeling – when I go back to Philly – where I lived in college and you get that rush of familiarity. Good luck with the move- you have even more great memories ahead of you!

  11. This really makes me want to go and do more stuff in NY. I’ll miss you!!

  12. Awe! I feel the same way about London, ON, where I went to uni… whenever I go back there I get all nostalgic…

  13. Is that a picture of your friend? I got all excited that it might be you lol

    It seems like a place like New York, no matter how frustrating, would be easy to have win you back. It’s just so beautiful.

  14. I’ve only just recently started trying to really explore my own city, and I still feel like I don’t know 99% of what’s here. But you’re right, it only takes a few things to make someplace feel like home.

  15. Gorgeous pictures and pefect memories. Your roommate sounds like a good friend.

Leave a Reply

