Goodbye, New York

I’m sitting at the Jet Blue terminal at JFK right now and it’s quickly living up to my expectations of amazingness and free wi-fi. With a medium iced coffee from Dunkin Donuts and a place to set up my laptop and write a blog post? I’m a happy girl.

It’s a paradox though, because I am officially leaving New York. In approximately 60 minutes. My roommate helped me carry three suitcases down 5 flights of stairs at 6am this morning. She’s a keeper. We stood on the sidewalk as we said our goodbyes and of course, cried our eyes out. It wasn’t the first time though- we cried at least twice last night as I kept going on about how this is my “last subway ride” and “last walk to our apartment” and “last walk up our horrible five flights of stairs”. I’m a sucker for memories and misery, I guess.

I really cannot believe I’m leaving. I think that’s why I kept reminding myself of my “last moments”. I still feel like I’m going to Texas for a vacation for a few weeks and then I’ll return to New York like always. I haven’t been to Texas for longer than two weeks at a time in the last 4 years. But here I am. Sitting at the airport waiting to board my plane to my new home.

Yesterday was an amazing day. I made to sure to create some lovely final memories of this city. The morning was filled with running errands and taking care of last minute business, but once that was finished, roommate and I had a glorious time. We had a late lunch of S’mac (mac-and-cheese), walked the streets of the Upper West Side, strolled through Central Park, went boating on the lake, and ate homemade brisket and wine for dinner. It really was a wonderful, wonderful time.

While we were sitting in the row boat in the middle of Central Park I kept reminding myself to look around. To look at the beauty surrounding me. To not forget that moment. It was peaceful. The water was calming. The sun was warm, but the breeze was cool. I was surrounded by my favorite people in New York. It really was a perfect way to end this two year adventure.

CIMG8796

So yes, I’m incredibly sad to be leaving, but I also know this is right for me. I hate to leave New York, but I also can’t wait to start my new chapter in Texas.

28 responses to “Goodbye, New York

  1. i’m so bad with “last thing” even if they mean new beginnings. here’s to new adventures!!! πŸ™‚

  2. This made me want to cry for you. Its so beautiful. I am glad that you were able to get some wonderful last memories of NYC. It sounds lovely and I hope those memories sustain you until you are able to get back for a visit.

    Good luck with starting the next chapter, Ashley. You’re on the verge on something wonderful!

  3. Good luck with everything!! I’m sure everything will work out and you can always come back and visit NYC!

  4. Sounds like a fabulous last day. Have a safe trip!

  5. I’m glad you were able to enjoy your last day in New York.

    I hope you have a safe flight!

  6. chasingparadise

    Oh, what I would give to have spent that much time living in New York! I’m so jealous. But congrats…here’s to new beginnings!

  7. ReinventingAmy

    aww good luck with everything! I remembered when I moved from Collegetown- I made sure to take in every little moment, every favorite thing to do and every last moment driving away from town. It’s always bittersweet, but remember you can always go back! πŸ™‚

  8. Yay new adventures!

  9. I need to add boating in Central Park to my list! And I’ll miss you!!!

  10. I think your next chapter is going to be all kinds of awesome. Moving is always bittersweet though!

  11. It’s a shame that the excitement of new beginnings always comes with the sadness of other endings. But, maybe that’s the way it has to be.

  12. What a lovely way to spend your last day in a city you love. A great last day is always a wonderful memory to take away with you.

  13. I’m so excited for you! And I’m glad that UPS didn’t totally ruin your last days in NYC.

  14. Endings are ALWAYS sad. I’m sure things will go great for you in Texas! Can’t wait to read all about it, and you can always go back and visit NYC at least!

  15. I hope that moving back home is a smooth transition for you! I did the “this is the last time…” spiel when I moved too. I guess you begin to see everything in a different light when you know your time is limited there.

  16. Travel safely! I hope your boxes eventually got shipped.

  17. good luck! i think the next chapter will be amazing πŸ™‚

  18. Good luck with your new adventures. You are going to be successful, no worries! Hope the flight was good!

  19. What a wonderful post. That’s so awesome you got the opportunity to leave in NYC for two years! Rowing a boat in Central Park sounds like so much fun! I love how you were savoring everything, even those horrible five flights of stairs!
    Good luck in your new adventure! Very excited for you! I think you’re going to love your new life!

  20. * LIVE in NYC.
    Oops.
    I guess I was too caught up in the idea of leaving NYC.

  21. Congratulations on taking this leap, I’m so glad that we’ve been able to be here with you as you move through this. I’m thinking about you- and I know the next chapter will be amazing. Travel safe!

  22. A little welcome back to Texas present for you on my blog!

  23. I’m glad to hear you made it back to Texas okay. I would have totally cried too leaving New York, but it was a great adventure and now it’s time for another one.

  24. I saw that you landed in TX safely snd I’m so happy to hear that. Can’t wait to read more into this next chapter of your life!

  25. That sounds like a great last day! Good thing you really savored it and took it all in :o)

  26. You did it right, though. You made fabulous memories and made sure to apprecite it all. Who’s to say you won’t be back in the future? You never know where life may lead you. Until then, there is always vacations πŸ™‚

  27. Pingback: 2009 In Review «

Leave a Reply

