The interview

I’ve spent the past few days debating whether or not I wanted to write about this. I don’t want to jinx anything, and I don’t want to get too excited knowing  that nothing is final at this point. But I’ve decided to go ahead and write. I’m really excited about it and so naturally, it’s something I want to share.

I had a job interview last Thursday. A really, really, really good job interview.

If I said I have never wanted a job this bad in my entire life, I wouldn’t be exaggerating at all. I think this job and I are a perfect fit.

I would be working for a private counseling firm that is contracted through the public schools. That means I would work in a school setting and provide counseling services to the students, but still receive weekly supervision at the private office.

My long term career plans are to work with children and their families in a private practice, so I think this would be a perfect “first job”. I would gain experience working with kids, but also be involved with their parents, peers, and teachers.

Also, the pay for this job is much higher than I expected, the benefits are good, and since it’s a school setting, I would work on school hours (meaning I’d be done by 4pm at the latest every day) and still get SUMMER VACATION!

The interview lasted an hour and I became more and more convinced that I wanted this job. I was even more excited when I left the building.

I should hear back by the middle of this week so they can start calling my references.

Any good thoughts or prayers would be HUGELY appreciated!

28 responses to “The interview

  1. Totally sending good thoughts. Lots of them.

  2. Good luck!!

  3. Tons of good thoughts coming your way!! =)

  4. Good luck!!! The job sounds amazing!

  5. ooooh, good luck love!! sounds incredible.

  6. I know the feeling of wanting a job more than anything so I will definitely send well wishes your way!

    That job sounds AWESOME!

  7. This is so exciting! My fingers are crossed for you!

  8. Very cool! Hope it works out 🙂

  9. Best of luck! I will send good thoughts your way because hell yes, that does sound like a perfect job (and hello, summers off!).

  10. Ohhhhh how exciting! Sounds wonderful! I was in your position only about a month and a half ago and it has turned out GREAT, so I’m sending you my good vibes. 🙂

  11. Sounds like an awesome opportunity! I’ll keep my fingers crossed and say a little prayer for you!

    And I can’t believe you saw the award I left for you on my blog before I even got a chance to tell you! You’re fast!

  12. Sounds amazing. Good luck!!!

  13. Praying and hoping and wishing and crossing (my fingers)!

  14. Crossing my fingers for you! Sounds exciting!!!

  15. Good luck! It sounds like such a perfect job. (It’s actually similar to what I’d like to go to school for.)

  16. It does sound like a great job! I hope you hear back from them soon – with a job offer! There is no better job than counseling children and teens 🙂 I’m blessed with a private practice, and I cant’ imagine doing anything else!

    A few quick questions –

    #1 – Does this job and the supervision hours count towards getting your license? Do you still have to take an exam? ..and did your school set you up well for TX’s requirements? (Every state can be different!)

    #2 – Please ask them to clarify if there are differences in working within a school system as opposed to an agency. Sometimes rules on confidentiality are different – especially when working with minors and their parents. The administration might also ask you for info – and confidentiality can get messy there too.

    #3 – Who covers your liability insurance – the school, or the counseling agency? Can you be sued as an individual? or would the agency cover that? (I know this is a wholly depressing topic, but it’s very important!)

    #4 – Are the records kept at the school, or at the private agency? Who has access, and how are they kept protected?

    I hope you get the job!!! 🙂

    • Great questions! I don’t know all the answers yet, but I do know that the job would count toward my licensing hours which is huge plus! I still have to take the state exam, but I meet all the other requirements. Thanks for getting me thinking about the other topics; I’ll be sure to ask for the answers!

  17. got my fingers crossed for you!

  18. I’m thinking about you!!

  19. That job sounds amazing! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  20. chasingparadise

    Good luck! I am SO crossing my fingers (and my toes) for you. If you get the job and have summers off…oooh, color me GREEN WITH ENVY!

  21. Good Luck. This job sounds like a great fit for you!

  22. OMG…this sounds perfect! I’m so excited to hear if you get it ❤

  23. That job sounds perfect! Good luck!

  24. Good luck — definitely hoping you’ll get the job!!

  25. My fingers are crossed for you!

  26. Pingback: The Job Hunt Continues «

Leave a Reply

