Thoughts on Growing Up

There are so many thoughts floating around in my head right now that I’m having trouble getting them out in a way that is not a jumbled mess. My head feels like a constant clatter of noise, but my body feels calm. I’m excited, yet I’m stressed. I’m happy, but at the same time I’m annoyed with nothing in particular. After a few days of personal reflection I think I’ve come to a conclusion- this is what growing up feels like.

Waiting to hear about this job is making me sick to my stomach. As I lay in bed in each night I practice the words I will say when I get the phone call, whether it’s a “Okay, I understand. Thank you for your consideration” or a “Thank you so much! I really appreciate your offer!” I’m hoping I will find out one way or another early this week.

And the car search, it still continues. So far I’ve test driven a used Acura TSX, Nissan Altima, Toyota RAV4, and Honda CRV. I’ve decided that I really prefer the SUVs, and I won’t be buying a sedan or any smaller car. I prefer the CRV to the RAV4, so that is still a possibility. I’ve also noticed that Ford is having some awesome deals, and plan to test drive an Escape sometime this week. Although, by talking to people, I’ve kind of decided that the CRV still might be a better choice, even if it costs a little more. We’ll see.

Also, randomly, I started looking at condominiums for sale. I found a few in the neighboring town that were selling super cheap. Today my mom and I went to see them. They were cute and seemed well built, but the catch is that not all of them are fully finished. Meaning I would have to install carpet and kitchen counter tops, appliances, etc. So I’m thinking that’s a no-go. But still, it got me thinking about the possibility of buying a condo instead of throwing my money away in rent each month. It’s not something I was planning on doing this soon, at all, but I guess it makes sense to put your money toward an investment.

It all feels so strange to me… all these big purchases and adult decisions. Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was 12 years old and going to a friend’s house for a slumber party to gossip about boys and play Truth or Dare all night?

12 responses to “Thoughts on Growing Up

  1. The waiting is SO the hardest part. Hang in there!

    My sister drives a CRV, and she LOVES it. It’s been a really great car; very dependable, and really fun to ride in as well!

    As for the condo — fun fun fun! I was actually doing a lot of condo research earlier this year. The market here is really inflated ($500,000 for a one-bedroom! That looked out on a parking garage! Are you kidding me?), but if you can get a good deal–and I’d guess that in TX you could–this is definitely a good time to buy. And what a great thing to be investing at this point in your life! It seems really grown up, but in the right circumstances, it can actually be really smart, too.

    No matter how much older I get, I still feel like that 12-year-old in me is alive and well. Nothing wrong with that, I don’t think : )

  2. I’m with you– I’m nowhere near ready for people to expect me to make real life decisions. Sounds like you’re on the right track though!

  3. I agree with Maxie, I don’t always feel entirely ready for all these grown up decisions.

    When it feels right, thats how you’ll know its right for you!

  4. Ugh. Grown up decisions blow.

  5. I heart the CRV and secretly kind of want one. But I think all this stuff is so fun!

  6. I think the grown up decisions can be really tough, but they also lead to a heck of a lot of fun and freedom. I would definitely take them on one at a time though, with a job everything will feel MILES more manageable.

  7. I think I realized that I was a “grown up” when my mom asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I said “A vacuum cleaner!” and was REALLY excited when I got one. Really? A VACUUM CLEANER? I feel OLD.

    Good luck with everything! This is a very exciting time for you and it sounds like things are going well so far. Keep us all posted!

  8. It’s amazing to make grown-up decisions on a regular basis, even the silly ones. But they are a lot of fun and provide a lot of choices =) Good luck with everything and here’s hoping you land the job!

  9. thesameamanda

    I know EXACTLY how you feel. I have a job interview tomorrow and I’m SO nervous! I’m trying to be positive but it’s so difficult sometimes! Good luck with everything and can’t wait to hear about it!

  10. I know, it’s crazy how time flies and all of a sudden it’s, “um…WHAT?! I’m an adult, kinda sorta now?!”

    Out of nowhere. And it’s intimidating and scary and makes you (or maybe just me?) want to play Barbies and watch Nick Jr.

    Sigh…hang in there! It’s all pretty exciting too, huh?

  11. I miss being young sometimes and just not having anything to worry about other than playing truth & dare and gossip all night long!

    You definitely should look into buying a condo if you can… we locked our interest rate in at 4.75% and our mortgage payments are cheaper than we expected it to be.

  12. Appliances on Craigslist. They’re easy to hook up. Moving them may be a problem.

    Unless they’re all wonky-shaped, you can get countertops at Home Depot and just screw them in.

    And carpet sucks.

    But it’s so exciting to get a new place and make it your own! When you move into a place that’s already done, it’s not quite yours. I bought my house because it needed some cosmetic work, and when I did it, I got to choose everything – not just things like paint. And it’s really, really MY house now.

Leave a Reply

