The Job Hunt Continues

So, I didn’t get the job.

I was pretty bummed when I got the phone call yesterday afternoon, but the woman was very nice and talked with me for a while.

She explained that she chose someone with more experience and who could “hit the ground running”. She said she understood how it is frustrating to hear that because I don’t have much experience, but how will I ever get any if no one will hire me?

During our conversation I asked if there was anything I could have done differently that might have put me in a better position for the job. She said there wasn’t and that my presence was very welcoming and she thought I would do great in the field. She encouraged me to continue gaining more experience working with children and to apply again if I ever said they had openings in the future. She also gave me a few recommendations of other agencies and organizations that I might look in to for job openings.

I told her I appreciated everything and thanked her again for taking the time to interview me. She wished me “the best of luck” and then we hung up.

Of course I was upset that things didn’t work out as I had hoped. This means I cannot buy a car this week. This means I cannot start completing my budget and searching for apartments that are within my price range. Because gosh-darn-it I still don’t know what my price range is! Without a job lined up I know that I will be stuck at home for even longer. It’s frustrating. I was so ready to start making those decisions and start creating a new life for myself. And now I’m back to square one.

I really hoped that I would get this job. I thought it was perfect for me. I knew it would be a challange, but I also knew that I would learn a lot and grow professionally. But it didn’t work out, so that must mean there is something even more perfect out there waiting for me.

I’ve already started resubmitting my resume to every place I can find. This morning I made a list of several agencies to call today to ask about openings. I’m getting back on the horse. Sure I’m disappointed and I’m not going to lie and say I haven’t cried a time or two. I’m sad things didn’t work out, but I know I’ll find something else. I just have to be patient.

16 responses to “The Job Hunt Continues

  1. cuteellaisbold

    Keep your chin up. You never know what’s around the next bend. 🙂

  2. Keep pushing ahead, miss. I would be making you a mojito if you lived closer ❤

  3. That’s such a bummer. I think you’re right, though, there is definitely something even better waiting out there for you.

  4. Booooo 😦 I’m glad the lady was nice and gave you some suggestions for other places. Keep searching, girl. You’re going to find it!

  5. awww, I’m sorry that job didn’t work out for you. I’m sure something even better will come along soon!

  6. I wish you the best and hope you find a job soon! I believe that everything happens for a reason. Maybe the perfect or better job is still waiting for you out there.

  7. I’m really sorry lady, I know how badly you wanted that job.

    But like you said, this just means that something better and more fitting for you is around the corner.

    Try to keep your head up, you’re good at that. And of course, if you need someone to talk to, here I am. 🙂

  8. I’m so sorry it didn’t work out! I know how frustrating it is to be ready to start your life and have something out of your control holding you up. I hope something works out soon!

  9. I feel your pain. I hate looking for jobs even in the best of times. Good luck with the hunt! Try to keep your spirits up.

  10. I know that sucky feeling exactly. I’m trying to find any ounce of positivity in my own job-search and it’s HARD.

    but just keep surrounding yourself with good friends, family and sending out resumes.

    Try, try, try again!

  11. I’m so sorry to hear this! Something will come along, though. My first job out of graduate school was in my field, but I was seriously overqualified. However, just being able to add it to my resume was a huge boost to my appeal to employers. I only worked their 3 months before I had another interview for my ideal job. It will all work out!

  12. I feel like it is rare for someone to be that open and kind and genuine after telling someone they didn’t get a job. It’s definitely a sign that you will see success soon. So sorry to hear you didn’t get it…

  13. Sorry to hear about the job, but it’s just a sign that another position is out there for you!

  14. Job hunts are incredibly frustrating but you’re right to pick yourself up and get back on the horse. You’ll find something that is perfect for you soon enough =)

  15. That’s so disappointing! I hope something pans out with another agency, but, gah, I am sure it’s so frustrating.

  16. Wow! That is quite a lot of feedback which is nice. Sorry you didn’t get the job but I am certain you will find the right one soon.

Leave a Reply

