Remembering

Dear Dad,

It’s a weird feeling, knowing I should be celebrating your birthday today, but also feeling that I can’t because you aren’t here.

Last year was hard for me. It was your first birthday after you died. I’m sure I cried for hours not knowing what to do with myself. But it’s a year later and I’m in a better place. I’m home and I’m surrounded by friends and family. You don’t need to worry. I’m so sad that you aren’t here to celebrate with us, but I’m not falling apart. I want you to know that I am happy even though there are tears streaming down my cheeks. I just miss you. I miss your laugh and your goofy smile. I miss the sound of your voice and those delicious meals you loved to make. I miss your hugs and all the fatherly advice you loved to pass on to me. I miss those silly baseball caps you loved to wear and your cowboys boots too. I miss it all.

I’m sad that I don’t have the chance to make any new memories with you, but I’ve learned though, that as long as I keep the old memories alive, I’m not losing anything. And the memories I have are special enough to last a lifetime, so I think I’m set.

Happy Birthday, Dad. I love you.

Love,
Ash

13 responses to “Remembering

  1. hope you got through this day ok! Happy birthday to Ashely D’s dad. I am sure he is watching over you, and want you to remember hi and laugh today.

  2. This is so sweet. I’m sure your dad would be really happy to know where you are in your life right now.

  3. Hearts ❤ Stay strong, beautiful! What a wonderful letter.

  4. Thinking of you and your family. It sounds like you have some really wonderful memories of your dad.

  5. A beautiful post for your dad Ashley. I am glad that you are home surrounded by family and friends. Hugs.

  6. He was a lucky father, since you were his daughter. I’m sure he’s so proud of you and your accomplishments.

  7. You break my heart. This is so beautifully put, and I hope you’re near as much comfort as you can get right now. ❤

  8. Annnnd now I’m crying.

    Your dad misses you too.

  9. i can understand how you feel. some years it’s easier than others. he was very lucky to have you as a daughter.

  10. You’re incredible Ash. Your dad is most definitely a proud papa right now.

  11. ashley i just want to give you a big hug. so a hug i am sending. as everyone has said, your dad would be so proud of you and where are you now.

  12. i’d like to say it gets easier as time goes by, cause it does. but even though many years later after my dad died i still reflect on him on his birthday.

  13. That’s beautiful, girl! Happy Birthday Ashley’s Dad!

Leave a Reply

