A Little Serendipity

It was just past 2am Saturday night. I was standing in the middle of 6th Street with a few friends waiting for the rest of our group to walk out of the bar. It had been an amazingly fun night complete with hours of dancing and top-of-your-lungs singing to Summer Lovin’ from Grease. My black high heels were now in my hand replaced with Old Navy flip flops on my feet and my hair was pulled back in a sweaty ponytail. We were smiling and laughing and complaining about how much our feet hurt, but really without a care in the world.

And then I saw him out of the corner of my eye.

I did a double take. It couldn’t be him. He walked passed me and then he looked back. He saw me too. I turned and smiled.

“Ashley?” he asked.

“Yes! SB!” I exclaimed as we hugged.

I couldn’t believe the guy I met (and made out with several times) on Spring Break (hence the nickname SB) in Florida over three years ago was standing right in front of me.

We hadn’t seen each other since that one week back in 2006. It was a magical week. My friends and I met him and his friends on the beach. We knew they were from Texas because of their burnt orange UT flag stuck in the sand. We all quickly became friends. SB and I exchanged flirty glances all afternoon, but neither of us made the first move.

Then later that evening at one of the bars, we all met up again. After a few drinks, SB came over and began talking to me. I don’t remember exactly how the conversation went, but it was something along the lines of “I saw you looking at me from across the bar”. Then an, “Umm no, I think you were looking at me first *flirty smile*” followed by an, “I don’t think so, but maybe we can just agree to disagree?” It was cute.

We danced together all night and eventually began making out. Oh, yes, he was a good kisser.

After that week in Florida was over our group decided to meet up one more time in Austin before all dispersed back to our respective colleges. SB and his friends came out that night. We held hands, danced, and kissed some more. He drove my truck back to my friend’s apartment because I was in no position to drive. I asked him to spend the night, he said yes. I built us a pallet on the floor (since there were no available beds in my friend’s apartment) where we lay talking. When we couldn’t keep our eyes open anymore he wrapped his arm around my waist and we fell asleep spooning on the floor.

The next morning we said our goodbyes. I went back to school, graduated a few months later, moved to France, and then moved to New York. Life went on and SB and I lost touch. C and I began talking again that April (we had broken up earlier that spring) and got back together. You know how that story ends.

But the story with SB began again last night. In the few minutes we had to catch up, he told me he’s back in Austin and loving it. I told I just graduated and moved back and was looking for a job. There was lots of smiling and gazing in the eyes.

He said we should hang out again.

I wish we would have talked longer, but my friends were being impatient and telling me it was time to go. I told SB I would message him on facebook. He gave me another hug and said, “It was so great to see you again!”

I walked away smiling and squealed to my friend, “That is sooo crazy! I can’t believe I just saw him!”

But I was really thinking, “ZOMG THIS IS TOTALLY AN ACT OF SERENDIPITY!!!”

18 responses to “A Little Serendipity

  1. That is such a great story! Seriously, what are the chances?

  2. Ooh la la! How exciting. Coincidences are strange, don’t you think? I actually just started keeping a notebook full of them. I think it’ll be fun to look back at my coincidence log and see if anything strange results from each one. I’ll let you know how it goes 😉

  3. Ooo! So exciting! I can’t wait to hear more about how this one goes!

  4. That’s awesome! Keep us updated.

  5. That’s a great story! How exciting!

  6. that’s so awesome you met up like that out of the blue! can’t wait to hear how this story goes 🙂

  7. Ah, yes! Love it. Can’t wait to hear about this!

  8. Yesss… so serendipity!! Ooohh I can’t wait to see where this goes!

  9. That’s exciting! I can’t wait to hear more about it in the future. 🙂

  10. Sounds like this meeting was meant to be 🙂

  11. I love this! I hope we hear more about him in the future =)

  12. What a fun story! I hope you have more stories to share of him in the future 🙂

  13. So excited to know what happens next!

  14. That is so exciting! I’ve definitely had people show up in my life again, but nothing like a chance meeting on the street. So romantic. I look forward to hearing more!

  15. That’s awesome!! Can’t wait to hear what happens – hope you guys hang out soon!

  16. How awesome! Yes, keep us updated! Seriously!

  17. Oh wow, this is so exciting! Can’t wait to find out what happens next! This is TOTALLY fate that you guys are both back in Austin at the same time!

  18. So what’s the latest with SB? You haven’t blogged about him since…are you guys seeing each other now? How exciting!?!?!

Leave a Reply

