The Job Offer/Giveaway Winners Announced

If you follow me on Twitter (and if you don’t, you should! I’m @AshleyD) you probably saw that I got a job offer yesterday. It’s true. I had an interview last Monday which went very well. I call yesterday afternoon to check in and was told that the position was mine, if I wanted it.

But here’s the thing. The job is in a new community agency. The lady, theowner/manager/head therapist, is the only person working there. She is super nice and I think I could learn a lot from her. She wants the practice to grow, obviously, and hopes to hire other therapists and interns within the next few months. But for now I would be responsible for my own clients. Meaning that I would have to go market myself, find the clients in schools/colleges/around town. I would be able to charge whatever I want, but then I have to pay my boss $10 an hour for using her office space and for her supervision services each week. So say I only see 5 clients in a week and charge them $50 an hour, I would owe my boss $50, and I would get to keep $200. Hopefully I would be able to see more than 5 clients, but in the beginning I’m not sure how busy the business would be. So that’s a little scary.

The good part about this job is that I would be able to make it whatever I want. I could create my own groups, I could target certain client populations, and I would be able to focus on whatever areas interest me most. Which is awesome. It would also be great experience for (hopefully) opening my own private practice one day.

It’s just so scary not knowing how many clients I would be able to pull in- which means not knowing my income each week. I’m thinking about trying it out part-time and working another side job at the same time, just to see how it goes. But I’m not sure. It might be better to wait a bit and keep searching for a job with, you know, a SALARY! Really, is that too much to ask? I mean I have two Bachelors degrees and a Masters degree, it shouldn’t be this difficult!

Anyway, I’m supposed to go in Thursday and talk to the lady. I guess I’ll make a final decision by then.

Whew. Okay. So that’s that. Now you’re all caught up on my current lack of a job.

And now for the good stuff! The giveaway for a voucher for Gap jeans ended last night at midnight. I hope you got your entry in! To pick the winners I wrote all the entry names in order in a word document (since some comments asked specifically to not be counted as an entry). Then I used Random.org to pick two numbers. Here are the results.

giveawaywinners

Based on my numbered list, that means Steph and An Apple A Day are the winners. Congratulations! Email me at Ashleyasaurora@gmail.com to send me your addresses and I’ll mail you a voucher for a free pair of Gap jeans along with a cute “Born To Fit” bag. Thanks to everyone else for entering my giveaway! I wish I could give you all a free jeans voucher!

15 responses to “The Job Offer/Giveaway Winners Announced

  1. That job sounds awesome, but it does sound a little scary as your first real job upon graduation. I like the idea of you trying it out part time. I also like the idea of waiting to see if a salaried job comes around. Tough decisions. Hopefully talking to the lady will help!

  2. Wait, I’m confused. You had an interview and you’ve been offered the job, but she didn’t call you to tell you that? She just mentioned it when you called her? And then you’d have to do all your own work and actually PAY your boss for the privilege of using the space? And she wouldn’t pay you anything? All money you would get would be money that you earned on your own, marketing yourself, and she would get a cut of it for rent?

    I’m sorry. This probably sounds more negative than I’m meaning for it to be. But I’m wondering if I’m missing something. This sounds more like one of those salons where hairstylists rent their own space than like a job. Like you’d be going into business for yourself with subsidized rent. Which is great, if that’s what you want to do, and I’m sure you won’t find cheaper rent… but it’s hard to go into business on your own without much experience, is it? And would you not get any benefits like paid vacation, sick time, and health insurance? It sounds like there are a lot of considerations to think really hard about before accepting a job like this.

  3. Well, regardless of if you decide to accept the job the fact that this lady thinks you could handle the job should be incredibly flattering! It sounds like it would be a great job assuming you could find clients to work with plus she’d be an awesome mentor BUT at the same time, if you aren’t feeling it in your heart, make sure to listen to it =)

    Good luck on Thursday; can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  4. That sounds like an interesting opportunity, but I totally understand why you might be a little hesitant to accept it. Still, it must feel great to be offered something so soon after moving back to Texas. Congratulations!

  5. Congrats on the job offer! It definitely sounds like an interesting one with definite pro’s and con’s! I guess see how the meeting goes and go with your gut feeling!

  6. Congratulations on the offer!

  7. I think if you have the opportunity to take a job that will help you as much as this job will in the future and you can afford to do it, you should go for it. I think I missed out on many opportunities because the money wasn’t there and that may or may not be why I’m unhappy in my career now. Still, if it’s not economical for you, then make the more logical and financially sound decision. Good luck and I’m so excited for you!

  8. First, congrats on the offer! but I would definitely take a LOT of time to weigh the options and position carefully.

    But I do agree with Jess on some of the points that she mentioned. It’s a lot to consider.

  9. The job you’ve been offered is a private practice gig. You’d effectively be your own boss, and pay a VERY reasonable rate to her for office space. She’s leaving out some big things, however –

    1. Expect 15% of what you make (including what you give her) to be deducted for taxes at the end of the year. You’ll half to self-report these self-employed wages to the IRS.

    2. Any driving, marketing, materials, etc. you use for this job are tax deductible – as long as you record your mileage (start/end on the odometer) and have RECEIPTS.

    3. You will need personal liability insurance, unless they are covering this for you. Make sure you ask!

    4. You will have greater protection if you become an LLC – which is reasonably priced considering how much it can save your ass.

    5. Who will do the billing?

    6. Is there a secretary who will take calls and book appointments?

    7. What if your client doesn’t pay? How do you collect payments? Cash/check/charge?

    8. Will someone be able to cover for you if you go on vacation? Also note – you will not be paid for vacation, and you will likely have to purchase your own health insurance – which is expensive, but also tax deductible.

    ..and believe it or not, there’s MORE. but this is a comment box, and I’m gonna stop! 🙂

    This is what I do for a living – private practice. I absolutely ADORE it, but there was a steep learning curve. I would have appreciated someone outlining the details!

    If you have any questions – PLEASE feel free to contact me! It’s a big decision, and there’s a lot to consider that she hasn’t been upfront about!

  10. First of all, congrats on the job offer!

    Secondly, remind me again why I didn’t enter this giveaway? I’m a moron.

  11. congratulations on your job offer! i just started an internship at a counseling agency in my area and i’m really excited about it. i agree that it would be good to try it part time because then you at least get the experience and it might be beneficial for your resume. good luck deciding!!

  12. Congratulations on the job offer! Whether it’s the right decision for you or not, it’s exciting to get an offer in this economy.

    I think Jess and Melly bring up some really good points. Perhaps you’ll get a better feeling for everything after you meet with the woman later this week. It seems as though this position could be a good resume builder, but you should weigh the opportunity carefully. For me personally, I’m not sure I would be able to have a job where my income could fluctuate when I was first starting out. If your goals are to get your own apartment, dog and car, it might be easier if you have something steady.

    Very, very exciting though! Congrats again!

  13. YAY! Regardless of whether this is “the one” for you–and it makes me nervous, not gonna lie–what a boost to get an offer so quickly out of the gates. I’ll be thinking of you as you weigh this out!

  14. That’s great news on being offered a job but I’d feel the same way about wanting a salary.

    I work with brokers and luckily the marketing department is on salary but the brokers aren’t. It truly sucks working with them that they’re mostly in a bad mood all the time if they’re not making money. It’s pretty stressful especially with the economy now.

    I wish you the best in whatever you decide to do! 🙂

  15. I hope your interview yesterday went well! I’m excited for you as you look for a new job. It’s such a life changing decision when you choose where you are going to spend the majority of your day. Good luck! I hope you find the perfect one!

    oh and Thanks for the giveaway! I am so super excited about my new jeans! I have been bragging to my husband about it all week. think blogging is lame?! well I get new jeans and you don’t! LOL

Leave a Reply

