Busy-ness

Okay guys, here’s the deal. I’ve been super busy and haven’t had time to sit at my computer for more than 5 minutes in the last few days. Crazy, I know. And I’m sooooorry. I really do miss all of you and I miss blogging too. I manged to squeeze in some blogging time, but this is going to be a quick post. I have to run to Subway in a few minutes and buy some lunch for me and my mom and then keep running errands all afternoon (finger-printing, Sprint store, etc.). Ahhhh… must. breathe.

But good news? I applied to be a substitute teacher today. That’s exciting, right? So hopefully some teacher will take the day off and I can take their place and get paid $85. That would be awesome.

Also, I’ve kind of decided that since no jobs are calling me back that I will start down another path. I’ll sub for a few months/volunteer at counseling centers (and actually use my degree!) and apply for alternative certificaton at the same time. Remember when I wrote about that?  If everything goes smoothly I should be certified to teach school in a few months and then I can start looking for a teaching job. Most likely I wouldn’t  start teaching until next August since there wouldn’t be any openings before then, but then I could teach for two years and become a school counselor. So that’s the life plan as of now. I’m really excited about it!

Hopefully I will get some down time in the next few days so I can catch up on my reader and start leaving comments of love again soon. Until then, I’ll be the girl with her new blackberry attached to her hand.

15 responses to “Busy-ness

  1. This sounds like a great plan, and a good way to fill out your resume a bit.

    Have fun with your BlackBerry!

  2. Wooo! I have always said that if I were to lose my job or something like that I would sub. Sounds like you have an awesome plan, I’m excited for you. (And here, a lot of teachers retire mid-year so you never know about when jobs may open up!) Best of luck Ashley!

  3. I’m glad you have a plan! That alone is exciting 🙂 And you’ve joined the crackberry club? Welcome!

  4. I’m getting a degree in pscyhology. I’d like to eventually do school counseling.

    Being a substitute will be good. It’ll help you decide whether you want to teach or not.

  5. I’ve always wanted to be a substitute teacher! You’ll have to keep us posted on how that goes =)

    What kind of blackberry did you get? Don’t you just love it???

    Good luck with everything/job hunting and fingerprinting (for work, I assume!?)

  6. Congrats!! That sounds super exciting – it always feels so good to have a plan in your head, hey!

    Good luck with it all!

  7. Sounds like you have some great things planned. Can’t wait to read about your adventures in substitute teaching, I bet there will be lots of good stories.

  8. so maybe I missed it, but why are you getting a BB, I thought your aunt got you an iPhone for graduation?

    • No, no you didn’t miss anything. My aunt gave me a gift card to Apple which I am still holding on to. I was going to wait and get an iphone once I have a steady job and can afford to switch to ATT, but that still seems to be a while away. So for now I got a blackberry (for free at best buy) and I’m staying with my current phone plan since it’s cheaper. I’ll probably use the gift card to put toward my macbook fund.

  9. oh yay for being a sub! hope everything works out according to plan! 🙂

  10. You have a plan! Plans are great. You are great. All is well with the world.

    I’ve been MIA too re: the blogging world. It makes you feel so…out of it, doesn’t it?

  11. Have fun subbing! It can be really challenging at times, but i really enjoyed it.
    This is my first year teaching and I am really excited for it!

    It sounds like you have a great plan 🙂

  12. Breathe. 🙂

    I think it’s great you have a path! You’re going to do so many great things!

  13. I think that sounds like an excellent plan! No moping for you :o)

  14. I think that sounds like a great plan! It sounds like you have a really good plan for yourself – congrats!

Leave a Reply

