Staying Flexible

When I was still in New York I had big dreams about what my life would be like once I moved to Texas. I thought I would move into my mom’s house while I continued job hunting, I would secure a job within a few weeks, then I would move out, rent my own apartment and buy my own car (with the money from my new salary). But that hasn’t happened, obviously.

I’ve been home for six weeks now and I’m still living at home. I still don’t have a job. I’ve been on three interviews, but have yet to be offered a paying position, stupid recession. At first I was discouraged, but then I made a few adjustments and altered my plan.

I decided that I was going to work as a substitute teacher this year and find a part-time job to work at on the side. I filled out my substitute application last week and I’m scheduled to be fingerprinted on Thursday. This would ultimately lead me to to the alternative teaching certification program which I would begin in a couple months. I decided I would teach for two years and then become a school counselor. With this plan I decided I was okay with the idea of living at home for at least six more months while I saved up money and searched for a real teaching job. That was the plan until yesterday and I was excited about it.

But then I got a call about a position I applied for several weeks ago and for which I will interview tomorrow. It’s through a non-profit agency working with children, adolescents, and families dealing with family conflict, runaways and delinquent behavior. It sounds like something I would really enjoy and would be a great first job. The only concern I have is that the position is not in Austin. It’s in a small town about 100 miles north (actually, it’s the town where I went to college) which is not my first choice of places to live by any means. It’s away from my friends and family, and the town is pretty boring (I lived there for four years, I’m not exaggerating on this fact). But I guess that’s the only negative.

Of course, I’m not getting too set on the idea of moving yet… I haven’t even interviewed and have no idea what my chances are of getting hired. But still. It’s stressful to think about. I thought I had a set plan and now it’s been thrown up in the air again. It makes me feel a bit unprepared and restless. Flighty even. I’m so ready to settle down and start making some decisions about my life. I wish I could have a set, solid plan, you know? But then again, most plans don’t work out the way you’d like anyway so maybe it’s better to be flexible.

Anyway, wish me luck on my interview tomorrow! I’ll be sure to keep you updated.

19 responses to “Staying Flexible

  1. Fingers crossed for you! Maybe you could live somewhere in the middle? 🙂

  2. I say just keep your options open. If this job is the right one for you, you’ll probably know within the first five minutes of the interview.

  3. I think staying flexible is the best option, not just for you but for all of us. With the way the world is today we just sort of have to go with the flow, hope we can keep our heads above water, and wash up on a sunny shore. Best of luck tomorrow on the interview!!

  4. oooh good luck on the interview!!!

  5. Good luck tomorrow!! I’m sure that if it’s the right thing for you then you will feel it in your gut!

  6. Good luck!

    You know, I thought I would stay at home after graduation for about 6 months. Two years later, I finally got around to moving out 🙂

    Don’t get too comfortable like I did, but also realize this is a time of big changes, so it’s OK to stay put for awhile. Or move 100 miles if that’s where the job is!

  7. Good luck! Keep us posted. Can’t wait to hear all about it. I’m sure you’ll do great.

  8. Good Luck tomorrow! You’ll do great! You will know if this is the right job for you and everyone will support you with whatever decision you make. 🙂 You rock!

  9. fingers toes and other appendages crossed for you honey x

  10. Much luck today, Ashley! 🙂 Being flexible is, unfortunately, a necessity in this economy. You’ll know if it’s the job for you after a few minutes there. And hey, if you’re not crazy about it, there’s no need to settle for it. You’re lucky to have your mom’s house to stay at to wait for the perfect job.

  11. Good luck with the interview! I always felt like where I live is very important to me, because it is a huge source of happiness to have people and things to do. But, you never know what’s in store and that’s half of the fun 🙂

  12. Good Luck! I’m sure you will do amazing!!

  13. Good luck Ashley!!

    Try not to worry too much and just take things one step at a time 🙂

  14. This is exciting! If you do get offered the job I’m sure you’ll be able to figure something out. In the meantime, good luck on the interview!

  15. Not sure if I missed the chance to say Good Luck! But I hope it went well…Stay flexible because as much as it might be boring, if it feels right, do it for awhile and know that 100 miles is less than 2 hours…you can be in Austin in time for dinner and a movie.

  16. good luck, i’m sure you’ll do great!

  17. The Universe works in strange ways sometimes, huh? Just when we become comfortable with one plan, it throws another one at us!

  18. I just want to say that I stumbled on to your blog at a time when I was dealing with the end of my long term relationship. SO much of what you are going through has resonated with me. I too finished my graduate studies, broke up with my bf after a long term relationship, and am looking for work. I completely understand everything you are going through, and I feel that it has helped me alot to know that other people are going through the same thing!

Leave a Reply

