Orientation

Last week I wrote that Monday was training for my new job. Today is Monday.

Today I will meet my co-workers for the first time. I’ve mentioned before that I have some anxiety when meeting new people, and today is no different. I’m hoping that I will easily be able to introduce myself, remain curious yet professional toward my co-workers, and (hopefully) make new friends. This is the part I’m most nervous about.

Today I will learn the details of my benefits and vacation time. I attempted to ask these questions when I was given the job offer, but the details were still a bit foggy. I was given only brief and summarized explanations. Since I’m being hired for a new office and new team, the final and thorough details will be discussed today. I’m sure this will be in addition to mounds of HR paperwork I will complete.

Today I will learn the “processes” for counseling at the agency. Obviously, each agency has its own set of rules and regulations they follow regarding the counseling process. I was told during the interview that this agency uses mostly Solution-focused and short-term counseling. Today I will be further introduced to their procedures and techniques.

Today I will take notes. Today I will ask questions. Today I will be filled with new information.

Today is the first day of my professional career!

21 responses to “Orientation

  1. i’m soooo excited for you. Clapping my hands together and trying not to squeee excited. Can’t wait to hear about how it goes

  2. Hooray!

    I hope your first day goes well! I can’t wait to hear about how this job unfolds itself, revealing its promise inside!

  3. Have a great first day!!!

  4. you’re going to do amazing!!

    good luck!

  5. Woo hoo!

    And ps, you left out one little thing.

    Today, you will knock everyone’s socks off from all your awesomeness!!

  6. Yay! Good luck! I hope it goes well!

  7. So excited for you! Have a fantastic first day and report back. πŸ™‚

  8. Good luck! The first few days are always scary, but I am sure it will go fine.

  9. Good luck, lady! πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll be fabulous!!

  10. GOOD LUCK, Ashley!

    You’re going to do great! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  11. Good luck! I hope everything goes/went well today!

  12. Hope everything went well today. I’m sure the first few days will go by fast!

  13. Hope you had a great first day today!

  14. Good luck! Can’t wait to read about it.

  15. yay! good luck! hope today went great, can’t wait to hear about it.

  16. i’m taking a class in solution focused therapy next semester and right now i’m taking a class in cognitive behavioral therapy and i have already started using it on clients, but it’s so scary! good luck!! this is so exciting!

  17. Yay! I hope it went splendidly. Undoubtedly there was mounds and mounds of paperwork, but isn’t it exciting to be beginning your professional career? I am so excited for you!

  18. Good luck! I can’t wait to read all about it.

  19. Congrats on your new job! can’t wait to hear more as it progresses.

  20. I can’t believe I missed your first day! I am sure you dazzled them with your brilliance.

  21. Oh my gosh, congrats! Can’t wait to hear about how it went!

Leave a Reply

