NaBloPoMo and a Crush

It’s November 1st and you know what that means… it’s time for NaBloPoMo! (In case you’re not in the know, NaBloPoMo= National Blog Posting Month.  The only rule is that you post every day for a month.)

nablopomo2009

I participated last year on my old blog and somehow managed to write a post every. single. day for the month of November. I loved NaBloPoMo last year. It took a lot of motivation, but it also helped my writing and when it was over I continued writing on a (almost) daily basis. Now, my posting has been a bit sparse lately, but I’m going to try. I can’t promise how exciting or full the posts will be, but I’m going to attempt to actually write with meaning.

So, for this first day of NaBloPoMo I have an exciting little story to share.

I met a boy this weekend!

He is a friend of a friend of a friend (follow that?) that I met at a concert on Friday night. I thought he was cute from the moment I met him, but I didn’t want to get my hopes up. For one, he’s really tall. Like really REALLY,  6’7″ tall. In my experience super tall guys don’t usually go for short (5’2″) girls like myself. And two, he played football in college. And football players intimidate me a bit.

But we talked for a few minutes during the concert and he asked if I was having fun.  He also bought me a drink. When we stood up to leave he said “This might seem kinda weird, but you have really pretty hair.” I laughed and told him thank you. I also told him that he was probably the tallest person I’ve ever met. And then we took a picture together.

After the concert our group moved along to another bar and he came too. This bar had an upstairs area with separate rooms which reminded me of a house party. In one room there were two leather sofas. He sat down and asked me to sit with him and we spent the next hour sitting and talking. He asked about my job, where I went to school, and how I liked New York. I asked him about football and how he liked Texas so far since he’s only been here a few weeks. We talked about traveling in Europe and what our favorite cities were. He asked about my family and told me about his. I had such a good time just talking to him that I didn’t even realize how late it was until the bartender told us they were closing.

When the night was over, he didn’t asked for number and I figured he wasn’t too interested. But Saturday afternoon I got a text from my friend saying he was asking for my number and asking if she could give it to him. So, yay!

And now that it’s almost two days later and I’m still thinking about him, I think it’s safe to say that I have a crush.

 

22 responses to “NaBloPoMo and a Crush

  1. Yay, NaBloPoMo!

    Good luck with the boyyy! Sounds like it was a great time.

  2. Yay for crushes! And good luck with NaBloPoMo!

  3. Oh Ash, that is so exciting! Woo hoo crush!

  4. Yay for crushes! He sounds like he could be a pretty good guy!

  5. Adorable. And I love tall guys, but it’s been my experience that they DO like tiny girls! Go get him 🙂

  6. Ooooh, yay for new crushes! So much fun!

  7. Oh, new crushes are so fun!

    I’ve resolved to do the whole NaBloPoMo thing too – we’ll see how it goes.

  8. A crush is very exciting 🙂 Can’t wait to hear what happens next with him!! I love tall guys too.

  9. Crushing is so so much fun 🙂 Hope it turns into something fun!

  10. Crushes are awesome. I simultaneously love and hate them. Love = fun! butterflies! Hate = Can’t think about ANYTHING ELSE.

  11. I’m right there with you on NaBloPoMo! I’ve done it for three years running so I hope I can pull it off again =)

    Tall guys are great and I’m glad he hunted your # down. Crushes are fun!

  12. Ohh! I love crushes!!

  13. Yay! Sounds very promising.

  14. Exciting! I once went on a date with a really tall kid… they have to stoop so far to kiss haha!!!

  15. Having a crush rocks.

  16. aw yay for a crush! and a tall one at that, haha.

  17. Can’t WAIT for the crush updates! I’m 5’2″ and have dated 2 guys that were 6’4″. It was actually really fun because they made me feel so teeny! 🙂

  18. Ooh exciting! Crushes are always fun, and it sounds pretty promising 🙂

  19. yay for your crush! That’s exciting! Don’t worry about the height difference. I’m 5’3 and my boyfriend is 6’1. Also my entire family is all over 6’1. Yeah I got the short end of the stick on that one!

  20. Very exciting… I used to date a guy that was 6’7 through high school… and at that time, I was just over 5′ (now 5’2.5.. huge gains, right?) Hopefully it works out – nothing better than being curled up with someone who can totally wrap around you 🙂

  21. This is exciting! I hope he calls you. Football players are awwwwwesome! I’m married to one.

Leave a Reply

