Sticking Around

Hey guys, remember me? It’s been forever, I know. I don’t really know what happened. It wasn’t a planned absence by any means, but one day I just realized that I hadn’t blogged in over a week. And then I felt bad and like I had abandoned you. But at the same time I was so busy with things happening that I became distracted. So I missed even more days of blogging. But here I am, finally. I’m back.

So. I’m assuming you all want an update on the boy situation. Yes?

We are still talking. And I still like him. But I’m still not 100% comfortable with the entire situation. He’s still intense and he knows this. We’ve talked about it several times… but he says it’s just how he is and he can’t completely change that. But he said he will give me space, talk to me when I want to talk, and see me when I want to see him. So I guess that’s good. And at the same time it is nice to know where he stands and what he’s thinking. I’m not really used to that.

We spent a lot of time together this past weekend- meeting for drinks Thursday night; a marathon date on Friday which included dinner, a high school choir Christmas concert (because he knows I like Christmas music, awwwww!), and a dueling piano bar; and another choir concert (for his friends), a movie, and a late night dinner on Sunday.

And honestly, I had so much fun. I really enjoy spending time with him. We laugh, make fun of each other, and he’s really nice. But there are certain things that just make me feel like it is too much too fast.

So after a few drinks on Saturday night we had a “talk”. I told I was a little uncomfortable with the situation and I wanted him to slow down. He said he understood and would try to not be so “intense”.

And that’s where things currently stand…

I told him I’d probably be back in town next weekend and I’m about 99% sure we’re going to hang out at least once.

I’m just going to take things as they come and see where this goes.

I’ve been around “intense” guys before and they’ve always sent me running for the hills. But for some reason I want to stick around this time. And as Mandy told me, “I think when you don’t feel like running, that’s a big deal”.

Also, in other news, this amazing lady and I are planning something fabulous for the blogosphere and you are going to love it. I promise. Get excited!

12 responses to “Sticking Around

  1. Well, I think it’s good that you aren’t making a firm decision one way or the other and instead just clearly expressing your needs and seeing how it goes. I have to admit, I’m kind of hoping this one works out!

  2. Glad you guys talked…he was getting a little intense. Looking forward to your surprise?

  3. nicoleantoinette

    I am not good with suspense!

  4. OMG YES. I’m so excited for our surprise. I’m supposed to be writing a paper all day and now all I want to do is plan this!

    Anyway. Back to you. Glad things are going well with the boy — not running far away is always a good sign!

  5. I think what mandy said is so true!! he seems like a genuinely nice guy (from what you’ve written) so who knows what will happen…just try to enjoy the company 🙂

    and yay for surprises!

  6. Very wise words from Mandy. Very. I used to want to run all the time and when I don’t feel like running… well my friends point it out and don’t let me =)

    I am excited so now i want to know what you’ve got cooking!!!

  7. The fact that you’re aware of not wanting to move too fast means that you most likely won’t let it get to that point. Which calls for a big GOOD FOR YOU!

    I am so happy you are happy. 🙂

  8. I’m glad you both talked and that he’s willing to slow things down for you.

    Don’t leave us hanging for long with the news 🙂

  9. aw good you guys had a talk, good to get it all out there and awesome that he acknowledges your concerns. and i totally agree with mandy, the fact that you don’t want to cut out and run is definitely a big deal.

  10. Thanks for the update! I’ve been waiting. I’m so excited that you’ve decided to stick around with this guy. I really hope it all works out for you.

  11. I usually run from situations like that, so when you know you dont want to run, it really truly does say a lot.

    I can’t wait to see what you’re cooking up!

  12. Your dates sound super cute!

Leave a Reply

