Chips and Queso and Christmas

Is this really only my third time to blog in December? I’ve been such a slacker. Or maybe life just happened. I think that’s it. I guess when I’m happy I decide I don’t need to blog as much?

So, I’ve been busy doing things like driving over 1,000 miles, helping my mom as she recovered from gallbladder surgery, visiting my cousin and her new baby, getting drinks with friends, exercising three times a week, going to dinner and watching movies with the boy, and somehow squeezing some work hours in there too.

See? Busy-ness.

In other news I talked to C on Saturday night… for the first time in almost two months. He called as the boy and I were standing at my front door saying goodnight which made the situation completely awkward.

Me looking at my phone: Oh no, I’m not answering that.
The boy: Why not?
Me: Because…
The boy: Oh, it’s an ex-boyfriend?
Me: Yeah…

I called C back when I got inside. He said he called because he was hanging out with an old mutual friend of ours and just wanted to say hi. He asked how I was doing and apologized for not returning my phone calls. Apparently he’s “not allowed” to talk to me anymore (crazy new girlfriend!), but I told him it was fine. I really do understand. We talked about our mutual friend, my job, life in general, and how weird it was that we hadn’t spoken in forever. Then his phone started to die. He said he’d get his charger and call me back… but never did. It’s probably better than I not talk to him anyway…

Things are going really well with the boy. We talk just about every day. Actually, I think we’ve talked every day except one. He’s entertaining when I’m driving for hours on end. He’s funny on gchat. My friends like him. My mom hasn’t met him yet, but she likes what she’s heard. He bought me a Christmas present “because he saw something that he knew I would love”. He’s creative and thoughtful when planning our dates. He plans our dates because he knows how much I love plans. It’s really cute.

So the plan for tomorrow night? We’re going to dinner at Chuy’s, my most favorite restaurant ever. Then we’re going to see this huuuuuge Christmas tree made of lights in Austin, and then we’re going to look at Christmas lights. I’m so giddy I can barely contain myself. This boy obviously knows the way to my heart. Chips and queso and Christmas. Love it.

12 responses to “Chips and Queso and Christmas

  1. That sounds delightful! Chuy’s is pretty amazing, huh?

    Enjoy the lights–I stumbled upon some pretty wacky ones off of Gudalupe!

  2. Awww, yay! That sounds like a perfect evening. Now, if only I can get my man to plan a similar one : ) .

  3. Awwwwwwww. That’s so great! After everything you went through with C, I’m so glad that you found someone who is treating you so well. He sounds like a real southern gentleman. Good on ya!

  4. Sounds like you’re having a great time with the boy! I’m so glad you didn’t give up on this one.

  5. walkingonsunshine18

    It sounds like you’re in a really good place and that’s awesome! I hope your Mom is feeling better! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. awwww so sweet – have fun tonight!!

  7. That’s so wonderful. You deserve soo much happiness you don’t have time to blog!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. aw that’s so cute he plans dates like that. have a wonderful time!

  9. I am glad that everything is going so well! Have a Merry Christmas Ashley!!

  10. Hello, fellow blog slacker! I’m glad I’m not alone.

    E and I used to go to an awesome restaurant called Chuy’s all the time, but it’s closed now. I hope you guys had fun! Merry Holidays!

  11. I’ve totally slacked lately too… it happens! So glad you’re happy & the boy is treating you right! Merry Chips & Queso & CHRISTMAS to you, Ashley! xo, Lacey

  12. Chuy’s. Yummmm.
    Glad things are going well with the boy; lord knows you deserve it!

    We will gladly read your blog when you’re happy or sad! But I also tend not to blog as much when i’m happy; i know what you mean =)

Leave a Reply

